New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The assembly elections in Jharkhand will be held in five phases from November 30 to December 20 and the counting of votes will be done on December 23, the Election Commission announced on Friday. 

Briefing the media, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora announced that the first phase of polling will be done on November 30, second phase on December 7, third phase on December 12, fourth phase on December 16 and fifth phase on December 20. 

Arora said that the model code of conduct comes into effect starting today. He also said that 19 districts in Jharkhand are sensitive and 13 districts are worst-hit by left-wing extremism, adding that special forces will be deployes to counter Maoists to ensure peaceful polling in the state. 

Arora said Income-Tax officials will be deployed in every district for to effectively monitor the expenditure.

Here are the important dates related to Jharkhand Assembly Elections 2019:

Phase 1 -- 13 Constituencies

Issue of Notification -- November 6

Nomination filing -- November 13

Scrutiny -- November 14

Last date of Withdrawal -- November 16

Polling -- November 30

Counting -- December 23

Phase 2 -- 20 constituencies

Issue of Notification -- November 11

Nomination filing -- November 18

Scrutiny -- November 19

Last date of Withdrawal -- November 21

Polling -- December 7

Counting -- December 23

Phase 3 -- 17 constituencies

Issue of Notification -- November 16

Nominations -- November 25

Scrutiny -- November 26

Last date of Withdrawal -- November 28

Polling -- December 12

Counting December 23

Phase 4 -- 15 constituencies

Issue of Notification -- November 22

Nominations -- November 29

Scrutiny -- November 30

Last date of Withdrawal -- December 2

Polling -- December 16

Counting -- December 23

Phase 5 -- 16 constituencies

Issue of Notification -- November 26

Nominations -- December 3

Scrutiny -- December 4

Last date of Withdrawal -- December 6

Polling -- December 20

Counting -- December 23

The tenure of the Raghubar Das-led BJP government in the state ends on January 5, 2020. In 2014, polling in the state was held in five phases between November 25 and December 20. 

This will be the third state election since the BJP retained power at the Centre under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the Lok Sabha polls conducted in April-May this year.

Maharashtra and Haryana -- both BJP-ruled states -- went to polls on October 21. The BJP emerged as the single largest party in Haryana and formed government with the support from Dushyant Chautala's JJP. 

In Maharashtra, the BJP-Shiv Sena alliance got a simple majority but the two ruling partners are now locked in a standoff over the latter's demand of 50:50 power sharing in the state. 

In Jharkhand, the BJP rose to power after winning 35 seats in the 81-member house in 2014. Its ally, the AJSU, won 17, taking the NDA past the majority mark. In the 2019 Lok Sabha polls too, the party won 12 of 14 parliamentary seats.

This time, an alliance of opposition parties, mainly the Congress and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, is making a determined bid to oust the government headed by Chief Minister Raghubar Das. 

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta