Ranchi | Jagran News Desk: The fourth phase of polling for the Assembly Elections in Jharkhand ended with a voter turnout of 62.46 per cent. According to the voter turnout app of the Election Commission, the maximum turnout was recorded in Madhupur with a per cent of 72.90 while the lowest turnout was recorded in Jharia with a turnout of 51.76 per cent.

Apart from that, 69.50 per cent turnout was recorded in Sindri while in Nirsa it was 67.50 per cent. In Dhanbad a turnout of 52.67 per cent was recorded while in Tundi it was 67.21 per cent. Baghmara witnessed a turnout of 61.95 per cent while Bagodar saw a turnout of 62.82 per cent.

In Jamra, a turnout of 59.09 per cent was recorded while Gandey it was 69.17 per cent. In Giridih, it was 60.64 per cent. Dumri saw a turnout of 68.89 per cent while 63.40 per cent turnout was recorded in Deoghar.

Also Read | 'Will build sky-high Ram temple in Ayodhya within four months': Amit Shah

The voting started at 7 am and ended at 3 pm in five districts -- Jamua, Bagodar, Giridih, Dumri and Tundi seats while it continued till 5 pm in rest of the constituencies.

The fourth round of the Assembly Elections in Jharkhand was important as it will decide the fate of state Labour Minister Raj Paliwar and Land and Revenue Minister Amar Kumar Bauri. Paliwar contested from Madhupur against JMM’s Hussain Ansari while Bauri contested from the Chandankiyari.

Meanwhile, in Jharia, a fight between two women candidates was witnessed. The BJP fielded wife of sitting saffron party MLA Sanjeev Singh who is behind the bars in the murder case of his cousin Niraj Singh of the Congress while the Congress has fielded Niraj Singh's widow Purnima Niraj Singh in the seat.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Choubey, 47,85,009 electorate, including 22,44,134 women and 81 third gender voters, were eligible to cast their franchise in this phase.

Polling in the first three phases to 13, 20 and 17 seats ended on November 30, 7 and 12 respectively. The fifth and final phase of polling to 16 seats will be held on December 20. The votes will be counted on December 23.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma