New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The second phase of the Jharkhand Assembly Elections in will be held on Saturday. The voting will take place in 20 Assembly seats out of which six Assembly consituencies are located in the East Singhbum district. On 18 seats, the voting will take place from 7.00 am to 3.00 pm while on two seats -- East Jamshedpur and West Jamshedpur, the polling will take place from 7.00 am to 5.00 pm.

As many as 260 candidates, including 29 women, are in the fray and the highest number of candidates are from East Jamshedpur and West Jamshedpur with 20 on each seat while Seraikela has the least number - seven candidates.

Meanwhile, the district administration and senior police officials have said that they have taken all preventative measures to conduct the poll in safe and peaceful manner.

Also Read | ‘Your votes to decide if state will walk on path of development or Naxalism’: Amit Shah

“We have identified 2,300 people who can disturb law and order at the time of voting. Notices have been sent to them,” Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Anup Birthray -- quoted by ANI -- said while adding that state police, along with CRPFs, have been deployed at polling booths in Jamshedpur East and West assembly seats.

For polling in Maoist affected areas, the officials have deployed Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) including the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) and the BSF jawans for safe and peaceful polling across the 20 Assembly consituencies.

The second phase of polling will be held in Baharagora, Ghatsila, Potka, Jugsalai, Jamshedpur East, Jamshedpur West, Seraikella, Kharsawan, Chaibasa, Majhgaon, Jaganathpur, Manoharpur, Chakradharpur, Tamar, Mandar, Torpa, Khunti, Sisai, Simdega and Kolebira.

The second phase will decide the fate of heavyweights in the state and the focus would be on Jamshedpur East seat from where Chief Minister Raghubar Das is contesting. The Chief Minister is standing against Congress’ Gaurabh Vallabh.

Also Read | 'Snatched land of tribals and gave it to industrialists': Rahul Gandhi's scathing attack on BJP

Apart from Das, half of the candidates in the fray in the second phase are VIPs. State Assembly Speaker Dinesh Oraon, Urban Development Minister Neelkanth Singh Munda, Water Resources Minister Ramchandra Sahis, former Cabinet Minister Saryu Rai and state BJP president Laxman Giluwa are in the fray.

The BJP has fielded 20 candidates, including two women, while the alliance of Congress and JMM has fielded 6 and 14 candidates respectively.

(With agency inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma