New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: After suffering a setback in Maharashtra over seat-sharing, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will now contest the Jharkhand assembly elections alone after failing to finalise the seat-sharing agreement with its ally All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) for the Jharkhand assembly polls. The BJP is now left with no partners in the state as its prominent Bihar ally Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) had earlier this month announced that they will contest the elections alone by fielding their candidates from 50 seats.  

According to sources, the BJP will soon release the list of candidates for the remaining 27 seats. The ruling party has already announced the list of 53 candidates for the five-phase Jharkhand assembly polls. The BJP will support Independent candidate Vinod Singh in the Hussainabad constituency, a seat the party had left for AJSU, sources said.

Also Read: Maharashtra Impasse | CMP finalised, Sena likely to get full term CM; final call expected early next week

The decisions were taken by the BJP after a meeting of BJP chief and Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP’s working president JP Nadda and party’s senior leader Om Mathur.

In 2014, the BJP had contested on 72 seats and had won 37 out of them, while the AJSU in alliance with the BJP, had contested on eight seats and had won five out of them. The Lok Jan Shakti Party (LJP) had only contested on one seat and lost.

According to sources, for this years’ assembly polls, the AJSU had asked the BJP for 19 seats to contest the elections in Jharkhand, but the ally was not willing to give them more than nine seats, creating the fissure between the allies. While talks for the seat-sharing agreement were on, the AJSU announced 12 candidates, four of which overlap with BJP candidates in Simaria, Sindri, Mandu, and Chakradharpur.

Meanwhile, the seat-sharing talks between the BJP and LJP also went in vain, after the latter demanded six seats from the BJP, but the ruling party was only interested in giving them one seat. The Chirag Paswan-led LJP later announced that they will contest on 50 seats alone.

Also Read: Delhi Air Pollution | SC to decide on odd-even extension today as national capital remains gas chamber

"The Lok Janshakti Party has decided it will contest 50 seats alone. The first list of party candidates will be announced this evening," Paswan tweeted.

Jharkhand elections will be starting from November 30 and the results will be announced on December 23. The elections will be held in five phases, as announced by the Election Commission of India earlier this month. 

Posted By: Talib Khan