Ranchi | Jagran News Desk: The second phase of the polling for the 20 Assembly consituencies in Jharkhand ended on Saturday will 62.40 per cent of voter turnout, according to the voter turnout app. The polling started at 7.00 am and ended at 3.00 pm in 18 districts while on two seats -- East Jamshedpur and West Jamshedpur -- the voting continued till 5.00 pm.

The second phase of polling was held in Baharagora, Ghatsila, Potka, Jugsalai, Jamshedpur East, Jamshedpur West, Seraikella, Kharsawan, Chaibasa, Majhgaon, Jaganathpur, Manoharpur, Chakradharpur, Tamar, Mandar, Torpa, Khunti, Sisai, Simdega and Kolebira.

Meanwhile, some incidents of violence were reported. In Gumla district’s Sisai, a person was killed while six people, including police officials, were injured after a clash broke out between a group of men and security personnel at Booth number 36. After the clash between two rival camps, voting in booth no. 36 was suspended in the Sisai assembly seat of Jharkhand.

The Election Commission, taking cognisance of this firing incident and has sought a report on the entire matter. “Villagers tried to snatch arms from Rapid Protection Force (RPF) deployed at the polling booth. In order to control the mob, police had to open fire in which one person died and two others received bullet injuries on thigh and shoulder. They are reportedly out of danger and have been shifted to Ranchi hospital,” Jharkhand’s chief electoral officer Vinay Choubey said.

While in another incident, the Naxals torched an empty bus near Jojo Hatu village in Chaibasa constituency in the West Singhbhum district.

The second phase of voting in Jharkhand is important becase key leaders are contesting in this phase of polling. Chief Minister Raghubar Das from Jamshedpur (East) seat, state Assembly speaker Dinesh Oraon and BJP state unit chief Laxman Guila were some of the key candidates in this phase of polling.

Jharkhand, which has 81-member Assembly, is undergoing polling in five phases. The first phase of election in the state had taken place on November 30. Voting for the third phase will be conducted on December 12, the fourth phase on December 16, and the fifth and last phase on December 20. Counting of votes will take place on December 23.

(With agency inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma