New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The JMM-Congress alliance is set to form government in Jharkhand with the initial trends suggesting it crossing the majority mark of 41 in the 81-member Assembly.

As per the trends available for all the 81 seats, the Congress-JMM alliance is ahead on 46 seats while the BJP is leading on 24 seats. Babulal Marandi's Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) is leading on three seats while the AJSU, which recently broke ties with the BJP, is ahead on four seats. 

The JMM is leading in 25 seats while its alliance partner Congress is ahead in 11 and the RJD in five. The JVM(P) is leading in four seats while the AJSU Party in ahead in three and the BSP in two constituencies.

Responding to the trends, JMM chief Hemant Soren thanked the people of Jharkhand for their mandate and said that time has come to fulfil the promises made by the alliance. He also thanked the Congress and the RJD leaders for supporting JMM.

"We fought the election in alliance with the Congress and the RJD. I would like to thank top leaders of both the parties, including Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and Lalu Yadav," he said.

Meanwhile, BJP leader and Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das conceded defeat and said that it "it was his defeat, not of the BJP". "It is my defeat, not of BJP," Das -- quoted by news agency PTI -- said.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the combine and said that the BJP respects the mandate given by the people of Jharkhand. He also applauded the party Karyakartas for their efforts and said that the BJP will continue serving Jharkhand and raising people-centric issues in the times to come. 

"Congratulations to Hemant Soren Ji and the JMM-led alliance for the victory in the Jharkhand polls. Best wishes to them in serving the state," PM Modi said in a tweet.

"I thank the people of Jharkhand for having given BJP the opportunity to serve the state for many years. I also applaud the hardworking Party Karyakartas for their efforts. We will continue serving the state and raising people-centric issues in the times to come," he added.

Union Home Minister and BJP President Amit Shah also expressed his gratitude to the people of Jharkhand for giving the BJP a chance to govern the state for five years and asserted that his party remains committed to its development. He also lauded BJP workers for their "untiring" efforts in the assembly polls.

"We respect the mandate given by the people of Jharkhand. We express our gratitude towards them for giving us the opportunity to serve them for five years. BJP is committed towards continuous development in the state," he said in a tweet.

The trends fall in line with the exit polls which predicted the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM)-led alliance in the lead, and incumbent Raghubar Das-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) likely to fall significantly short of the majority mark.

Jharkhand Election Results: Congress-JMM reaches out to JVM as it touches majority mark, BJP approaches AJSU

The battle for the chief minister seat is mainly between incumbent Raghubar Das, who is leading from Jamshedpur East, and JMM leader Hemant Soren, the son of Shibu Soren, who is leading from Barhait, but trailing from Dumka.  

RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav said that JMM chief Hemant Soren will be the chief minister of the grand alliance government in the state.  

"There is going to be a clean sweep for Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance) in this election. We have fought elections under leadership of Hemant Soren. He is going to be the Chief Minister," he said. 

Disappointed with the results, BJP's Arjun Munda said that the party will analyse whether going alone in the state polls was the right decision. 

With the trends suggesting a clear edge for the Congress-JMM-RJD alliance over the saffron party, the former has reportedly reached out to the JVM for a possible alliance while the latter has approached the AJSU in a last-ditch effort of a post-poll alliance. 

Among the seats that the BJP is leading are Baghmara, Barhi, Bishunpur, Dumka, Jamshedpur (West), Pakur, Panki, Potka, Simdega, Torpa, Hazaribagh, Khunti, Ramgarh, Daltonganj, Dhanbad, Giridih and Bhawanathpur.

Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das is trailing Independent candidate Saryu Rai by 771 votes in Jamshedpur EastUrban Development Minister and BJP candidate C P Singh is leading by 1,616 votes over his nearest JMM rival Mahua Maji in Ranchi seat.

Labour Minister and BJP candidate Raj Paliwar is leading by 1,593 votes over his nearest JMM rival Haji Hussain Ansari in Madhupur seat.

Jharkhand Assembly Speaker and BJP candidate Dinesh Oraon is trailing by over 6,000 votes in Sisai seat.

The JMM is leading in Baharagora, Borio, Chaibasa, Chakradharpur, Dumri, Ghatsila, Garhwa, Ichagarh, Gumla, Kharasawan, Littipara and Maheshpur seats.

Opposition alliance chief ministerial candidate and JMM working president Hemant Soren is leading in Barhait seat over BJP's Simon Malto by 1,672 votes and also ahead of state welfare minister and BJP candidate Lois Marandi in Dumka seat.

The seats where the Congress is leading are Barkagaon, Barhi, Bermo, Jagannathpur and Bokaro while the RJD is ahead in Deoghar, Chatra, Chattarpur and Godda constituencies.

The BSP is leading in Bishrampur and Hussainabad seats while the AJSU Party is ahead in Jusalai and Gomia constituencies.

Uma Kant Rajak of AJSU Party is leading by over 1,260 votes over his nearest rival state Revenue and Land Reforms Minister and BJP candidate Amar Kumar Bauri in Chandankiyari seat.

Former chief minister and JVM(P) president Babulal Marandi is leading by 2,841 votes over his nearest rival Raj Kumar Yadav of CPI(ML-Liberation) in Dhanwar seat. Former deputy chief minister and AJSU Party president Sudesh Mahto is trailing by 284 votes behind JMM candidate Seema Devi in Silli seat.

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta