Ranchi | Jagran News Desk: The counting of votes for the Jharkhand Assembly Elections in underway and as per the initial trends, the ruling BJP is leading on 27 seats while the pre-poll alliance of Congress, JMM and RJD has crossed the half-way mark and is ahead on 42 seats.

The battle between the Chief Minister’s post is mainly between BJP’s Raghubar Das and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha’s Hemant Soren. As per the trends, Chief Minister and BJP candidate Raghubar Das is trailing at his bastion Jamshedpur East. In Jamshedpur East, he is contesting against independent candidate Saryu Roy.

Also Read | Cong-JMM-RJD alliance crosses majority mark; anti-incumbency sinks BJP

Meanwhile, JMM’s Hemant Soren is leading from both Barhait and Dumka. In Dumka, Soren is leading against BJP’s Louis Marandi while in Barhait, he is leading against BJP’s Simon Malto.

The counting for 2019 assembly polls in Jharkhand is underway. The counting had began at 8.00 am at all 24 district headquarters amid tight security. The state went to polls for 81 Assembly seats in five phases from November 30 to December 20.

As per initial trends, the alliance of Congress, JMM and the RJD has crossed the half-way majority mark in 81-seats assembly and is set to form the government while the BJP is ahead on 27 seats. 

Also Read | Congress-JMM reaches out to JVM as it touches majority mark, BJP approaches AJSU

Earlier, the exit polls -- which were broadcast on December 20 -- had predicted a hung assembly in the state with Congress-JMM-RJP getting edge over the BJP. The exit polls had predicted the alliance of Congress-JMM-RJD would win 41 seats while the BJP would win 29 seats. 

In the 2014 assembly polls in Jharkhand, the BJP had emerged as the single largest party in the state and won 37 seats. On the other hand, Soren's JMM won 19 seats in the state. The Congress won six seats while the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) won eight seats in the state.   

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma