New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Congress-JMM-RJD alliance is leading on 46 seats while the BJP is ahead on 24 seats, show initial trends as counting of votes began for the Jharkhand Assembly elections. 

The AJSU, which recently broke the alliance with the BJP, is ahead on four seats while Babulal Marandi's Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) is leading on three seats, and the Others on four seats. 

The most prominent candidates in the election are Chief Minister Raghubar Das, his predecessor Hemant Soren, All Jharkhand Students Union president Sudesh Mahto and the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha's Babulal Marandi.

In the 81-member Assembly, the ruling BJP has 43 MLAs and its ally AJSU 4, while opposition Congress has 7, JMM has 18 MLAs. JVP (P) has 2, BSP 1, MCC 1, CPIML(L) 1 and Independents 3.

Click Here For Live Updates on Jharkhand Assembly Election Results 2019

According to the poll of polls, the Congress-JMM-RJP alliance will get 41 seats while the BJP might win 29 seats. The AJSU might win 4 while others will win around 7 seats in the state.

The poll of polls is an average of exit polls done by various agencies in collaboration with news channels. In this case, the numbers predicted by India Today-Axis My India Exit Poll, IANS-CVOTER ABVP and Kashish News have been factored in.

According to the India Today-Axis exit poll, the BJP was on course to win 22 to 32 seats in the Jharkhand Assembly. It said the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Congress, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) alliance could win 38 to 50-seats, while the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) likely to win 2 to 4-seats, All Jharkhand Students Union 3 to 5-seats and others 4 to 7 seats. The exit poll said the JMM-led alliance could corner 37 per cent of the votes to the BJP’s 34 per cent.

The Times Now exit poll said the JMM-led alliance could win 44-seats and the BJP 28. The IANS-CVoter-ABP exit poll forecasted 31 to 39-seats for the JMM-led alliance and 28 to 36-seats for the BJP.

As the exit polls trickled in, AJSU’s Sudesh Mahato said his party was not closed to doing business with the BJP in future. The AJSU had parted ways with the BJP in the run up to the polls. It had won 5-seats in the 2014 Assembly polls. BJP candidate and Jharkhand Agriculture Minister Randhir Singh is seeking re-election from Sarath constituency, while another saffron party nominee and Women and Child Development Minister Louis Marandi is pitted against JMM working president Hemant Soren in Dumka. Marandi had defeated Soren in 2014 assembly elections. The JMM leader is also contesting the polls from Barhait seat. His sister-in-law Sita Soren is seeking re- election from Jama seat.

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta