Gurugram | Jagran News Desk: Haryana Assembly Elections are just a day away and authorities are on their toes to make sure that the voting exercise should conclude with proper arrangements and peace without causing the voters any difficulty.

Ahead of the polls, the Gurugram authorities set up eight special ‘Pink Booths’ across the district where four assembly constituencies comprising of 1.2 million voters will determine the fate of 54 candidates.

Also Read: Assembly Elections 2019: Don’t have voter ID card? Here’s how you can vote using other ID proofs

Speaking about the arrangements, District Deputy Commissioner, Amit Khatri said as quoted by news agency ANI, "Pink booths, which are manned by only women staff will also be present. Our intention is to provide a pleasurable voting experience to all concerned and people do not face any issues during the polling process."

"We are fully prepared according to the guidelines laid out by the Election Commission. Three-layer security will be provided to all strong rooms consisting of Central Armed Police Forces, Armed police as well as local police," he added as reported by news agency ANI.

In four assembly constituency district, the authorities in Gurugram has setup around 1,172 polling booths across the districts while a total 44 Zonal Magistrates have been deployed to keep an eye on the election process to avoid any occurring problem.  

The fate of these 54 candidates contesting in Gurugram district will be declared on October 24. Out of these 54, Brahm Prakash from INLD, Narendra Mahlayat from Bahujan Samaj Party, Sukhbir Kataria from Congress and Sudhir Kumar from the BJP are contesting the elections.

Also Read: Upraised by 'Modi Wave' in 2014 to prominent CM face in 2019, Manohar Lal Khattar, a safe bet for BJP

Earlier in 2014, with the advantage of ‘Modi wave’ BJP candidate Umesh Aggarwal overshadowed all the candidates contesting from the seats and won the elections receiving a big mandate of 1,06,106 votes. In 2009 independent candidate Sukhbeer won the election with a small margin of 2,000 votes.


(With ANI Inputs)

Posted By: Talib Khan