Chandigarh | Jagran News Desk: Wrestlers Babita Phogat, Geeta Phogat, Olympic medallist Yogeshwar Dutt, TikTok star Sonali Phogat and Congress Committee President Kumari Selja were among the early voters in Haryana on Monday.

The Phogat sisters and their family cast their votes at Balali village in Charkhi Dadri constituency. Babita Phogat, who is contesting the elections on a BJP ticket, is standing against Congress candidate Nirpender Singh Sangwan and JJP candidate Satpal Sangwan.

Catch all the LIVE updates from Haryana here

While Olympic Medallist Yogeshwar Dutt, who is also contesting on a BJP ticket, from Baroda cast his vote. He is contesting against Congress candidate Krishan Hooda.

Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee President Kumari Selja also cast her vote at polling booth number 103 in Yashoda Public School.

The state’s lone woman minister Kavita Jain was also among the early voters who cast her vote in Sonipat.

Polling began on Monday at 7.00 am in 90 assembly constituencies in Haryana and will continue till 6 pm. As many as 1,169 candidates including 105 women of various political outfits are contesting the election.

Also Read | Assembly Polls 2019 | ‘Enrich festival of democracy’: PM Modi urges voters to come out in record numbers

The prominent figures in Haryana include Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, JJP's Dushyant Chautala and INLD's Abhay Singh Chautala.

The BJP, which is led by Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, is targeting to win 75 seats in the state while Congress is hoping to make a comeback following a change in guard in the state. Currently, the BJP has 48 members in the state assembly.

As many as 19,578 polling stations have been set, including 13,837 in rural areas, Chief Electoral Officer, Haryana, Anurag Agarwal said.

Also Read | Assembly Elections 2019: Bypolls in 51 Assembly, 2 Lok Sabha seats across 18 states today

Tight security arrangements have been made and over 75,000 security personnel have been mobilised for the polls, DGP Manoj Yadava said earlier.

Over 1.83 crore voters are eligible to vote that includes 85 lakh women, over one lakh service voters and 252 transgenders.

(With PTI inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma