New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: With the assembly polls in Haryana just around the corner, the BJP, Congress and the INLD -- the three major parties in the run-up to power -- have upped the ante against each other.

Buoyed by the recent thumping victory in the general elections riding the ‘Modi wave’, the BJP is seeking another term in office in the state. The saffron party, under the leadership of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, had wrested power from the Congress in 2014.

For INC the wind seems to be blowing in the opposite direction as it failed to win a single seat in the recently concluded 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Meanwhile, INLD will be eyeing pockets of influence by winning more number of seats this time around.

The polling to the 90-member Assembly will take place on October 21 and the results will be declared on October 24. About 1.83 crore people, including 1.07 lakh service voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise.

Meanwhile, here is a look at the key constituencies in Haryana:


Karnal is one of the key constituencies in the state which is evident from the fact that 12 candidates are in the fray from the politically crucial seat. But the main contest will be between current Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khatter and Congress’ Tarlochan Singh (INC) and JJP’s Tej Bahadur Singh, who was sacked from the Border Security Force in 2017 after he uploaded a video on social media complaining about the food served to the jawans.



The Gurgaon constituency is currently held by BJP's Umesh Aggarwal. His wife Anita Aggarwal has withdrawn her nomination. She had filed her papers as an independent candidate after her husband was denied the BJP ticket. Sukhbir Kataria, who lost the previous election from Independent has switched to Congress in the upcoming elections.


Manish Grover of the ruling BJP will once again contest from Rohtak. He had previously defeated Bharat Bhushan Batra in 2014 to win the Vidhan Sabha seat.

Congress strongman Bhupinder Singh Hooda, who is representing Garhi Sampla-Kiloi in Rohtak since 2005, faces BJP's Satish Nandal, who had earlier served as INLD's district unit chief and joined the saffron party ahead of the polls. Hooda, a two-time chief minister, had defeated Nandal, then an INLD candidate, in the last elections.

Ellenabad (Sirsa)

The Ellenabad constituency is currently held by Abhay Singh Chautala of INLD, kin of INC's Om Prakash Chautala. Beniwal duo's will contest from Congress and BJP in the particular constituency. The constituency is reserved for SC.

Jind (Sonipat)

The Jind constituency is currently held by BJP's Krishan Lal Middha. He is seeking another term from the Jind Vidhan Sabha seat in the upcoming Haryana assembly polls.

Kaithal (Kurukshetra)

Kaithal constituency located in the Kurukshetra district of Haryana. It is currently held by Randeep Singh Surjewala of INC. He will contest against Lila Ram Gurjar in upcoming polls.

Dadri (Bhiwani-Mahendragarh)

The BJP is eyeing to come back to power in the Dadri constituency by bringing in Babita Phogat, a wrestler who has won gold, bronze and silver medals in the Commonwealth games. She will be up against experienced rivals Maj Nirpender Singh Sangwan (63, Congress), Satpal Sangwan (77, JJP) and Somir Sangwan (52, Independent).

Adampur (Hisar)

The ruling BJP has fielded Tik Tok star Sonali Phogat from Adampur constituency in Haryana state assembly election to seek power in Adampur, which is never won by the BJP. Kuldeep Bishnoi, on the other hand, will be seeking the fourth term in the office. Meanwhile, INLD has fielded Rajesh Godara from this seat.

Baroda (Sonipat)

Shri Krishan Hooda of INC will be up against famous freestyle wrestler BJP's Yogeshwar Dutt in Baroda constituency (under Sonipat district) in the upcoming Haryana Polls. He is likely to win the contest after emerging as a powerful candidate, but Shri Krishan has held the constituency from the last two terms.


Kavita Jain will re-contestant for another term for Sonipat constituency in the upcoming Haryana Assembly polls. She will be up against Surender Panwar who has changed his party from INLD to INC.

Ambala Cantt

Ambala Cantt is held by Anil Vij of the ruling BJP, who also holds the cabinet rank in the Government of Haryana while Venu Singla Aggarwal is roped in as an INC candidate for the constituency. Vij is seeking election from the constituency for the third time in a row. Ambala Cantt is reserved for SC.


In the previous 2014 Haryana state assembly polls, BJP had won 59 seats (15 seat surge) and INC managed to win 15 seats (37 less) while INLD managed to win 19 seats (23 seat loss) as compared to 2009 state assembly polls.

Posted By: James Kuanal