Chandigarh | Jagran News Desk: Manohar Lal Khattar on Saturday met Haryana Governor Satyadev Narayan Arya in Chandigarh and stake claim to form the next government in Haryana.

“We have stake claim to form government in Haryana. Governor has accepted our proposal and invited us. I have tendered my resignation which has been accepted,” Khattar told reporters on Saturday.

Khattar also said that the oath taking ceremony will take place tomorrow and Jannayank Janata Party (JJP) leader Dushyant Singh Chautala will be his deputy.

Also Read | Haryana Assembly Elections Result 2019: Full list of winners of BJP, Congress, JJP and INLD candidates

“Tomorrow at 2:15 PM oath taking ceremony will be held at Raj Bhavan. Dushyant Chautala will take oath as deputy CM,” said Khattar.

Khattar also said that a total of 57 MLAs -- 40 of the BJP, 10 of the JJP and seven Independents -- staked claim before the governor for forming the government in Haryana adding that some ministers would take oath on Sunday. He, however, did not specify the number.

Earlier, Khattar and his cabinet colleagues submitted their resignations to the governor, which were accepted. The governor asked Khattar to continue as the interim chief minister till the new government took over.

Also Read | 'Not easy to make comeback, says PM as Haryana heads for fractured mandate; lauds Fadnavis and Khattar

The BJP and the JJP on Friday night sealed an alliance and announced that they would form the next government in Haryana. The announcement came at the end of a meeting at the residence of Amit Shah.

“Keeping in mind the mandate of the people, leaders of BJP and JJP have decided that the two parties will form a government in Haryana together. The Chief Minister will be from the BJP and the deputy chief minister will be from JJP,” Shah told reporters on Friday night.

The results for the 90-legislative assembly seats in Haryana were declared on Thursday with the BJP emerging as the single largest party with 40 seats -- six short of the majority mark. The Congress, meanwhile, 31 seats while the JJP won 10 seats with INLD emerging victorious on 1 seat.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma