Chandigarh | Jagran News Desk: The Congress on Wednesday night released the list of 84 candidates for the upcoming Haryana Assembly elections, fielding all its sitting MLAs except one.

According to the list, former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda will contest from Garhi Sampla-Kiloi seat while the party’s spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala will contest from his Kaithal Assembly constituency.

Also Read | Haryana Polls: Babita Phogat, Yogeshwar Dutt in BJP's first list of 78; CM Khattar gets Karnala again

Apart from Renuka Vishnoi, the Congress has fielded 16 of its 17 sitting MLAs in the Haryana Assembly.

Here’s the complete list:

The Congress has fielded both the sons of late former Chief Minister Bhajan Lal, with Kuldeep Vishnoi from Adampur and his brother and former deputy CM Chander Mohan from the Panchkula seat.

The party has also given tickets to Ranveer Mahindra from the Badhra seat and his wife Kiran Chaudary from the Tosham seat. The two are the son and daughter-in-law of former CM Bansi Lal.

Also Read | Haryana Assembly polls: Mayawati-led BSP announces list of 41 candidates

Former Assembly speaker Kuldeep Sharma has been fielded from the Ganaur Assembly seat, while another former minister, Geeta Bhukkal, has been fielded from the Jhajjar reserved constituency.

Former minister Anand Singh Dangi has been fielded from his traditional Meham constituency.

The names of Haryana Congress chief Selja and former state unit chief Ashok Tanwar do not figure in this list.

In the 2014 Assembly polls, the Congress had managed to win only 15 seats while the BJP won 47 of the 90 seats and the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) had bagged 19. The remaining seats were won by other regional parties and Independent candidates.

The term of Haryana government ends on November 2. The state is going to polls along with Maharashtra -- both ruled by BJP -- on October 21. The votes will be counted on October 24. The last date for filing nominations is October 4 and the deadline for withdrawing them is October 7. 

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma