New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: In what was a repeat of its dominating 2015 performance, the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party completely outshined its rivals BJP and Congress in the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020. With counting still underway, the Election Commission data showed the AAP winning and gaining an unassailable lead on 62 of 70 assembly seats in Delhi.


In the South Delhi district, the AAP has defeated or is leading its rival on all seats. On Malviya Nagar seat, AAP’s Somnath Bharti defeated Shailendra Singh of BJP with a margin of 18,144 votes. While on Chhatarpur seat, AAP’s Kartar Singh Tanwar defeated Brahm Singh Tanwar by 3,720 votes.


While on South East Delhi district’s Kalkaji seat, Aam Aadmi Party’s Atishi Marlena, who contested the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections unsuccessfully, is leading against BJP’s Dharambir Singh with a margin of 11,393 votes. On the Okhla seat of SE Delhi district, AAP’s Amanatullah is all set to retain his seat and is leading against BJP’s Braham Singh by 79,908 votes.   


Meanwhile, BJP’s Ramvir Bidhuri is leading against AAP’s Ram Singh Netaji by 3,484 votes, as per the trends announced by EC at 7:00 pm.


In South Delhi district, 61.57 per cent of voter turnout was recorded during the assembly elections 2020 held on February 8. Among the areas in South Delhi, Chhatarpur witnessed highest voting percentage with 64.48 per cent of voters coming out to exercise their right. While on the two SC seats of Deoli and Ambedkar Nagar, 63.439 and 64.03 per cent of voter turnout was recorded.


Whereas, in South-east district, 59.73 per cent of voter turnout was recorded on Feb 8. While Sangam Vihar recorded the highest voter turn out with 62.16 per cent, Kalkaji area was at the bottom with only 57.44 per cent of votes.


While in Southwest district 61.98 per cent of voter turnout was recorded. Najafgarh, Dwarka, Palam were among the highest in south-west Delhi with 64.41, 61.97 and 63.30 per cent of voter turnout.

Posted By: Talib Khan