New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The much-awaited results for the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 were declared on Tuesday. In Rithala Constituency, a total of 12 candidates in fray for the seat that lies in the North West part of the national capital. The main contest was between the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP). 

As per official trends, Mohinder Singh Goyal of AAP triumphed by 13,873 votes against BJP candidate Manish Chaudhary. While Singh received 87,940 votes, Chaudhary got 74067. Congress' Pradeep Kumar Pandey received just 2651 votes. The figure are subject to change. 

There was not a single time period when the Manish Chaudhary seemed to get an edge over his rival. Goyal, who began with 940 seats in the day went on strength by strength to extend a lead of over 6000 votes as AAP seemed to have comfortably won back its Rithala constituency.

Also Read: Ballimaran Elections 2020 Results | AAP's Imran Hussain defeats BJP's Lata Sodhi in one-sided contest

In the previous Delhi Assembly elections 2015, Goyal had defeated Kulwant Rana of the BJP by a margin of 29,251 votes. 
Mahinder Goyal is a 10th pass and owns assets worth Rs 4,38,90,953, said a report.

Overall in the 70-seat Assembly, AAP was leading on 63 seats while BJP was ahead on 7 seats. The BJP were looking strong to get around 20 seats, but the results went in favour of AAP as the day progressed. 

The voting for the Delhi Assembly elections was held in a single phase on February 8.

Rithala saw a total voter turnout of 71.58 per cent.

Posted By: James Kuanal