New Delhi |Jagran News Desk: Aam Aadmi Party's spokesperson and treasurer, Raghav Chadha, completely outshined BJP's RP Singh on Rajinder Nagar constituency seat to register a thumping victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020. Raghav was leading from the seat since the initial trends came. 


Chadha, one of the youngest candidates from AAP, garnered 58,943 EVM votes and 192 postal votes, according to the official website of the Election Commission. Raghav Chadha defeated BJP’s RP Singh with a massive margin of over 20,000 votes.

Also Read: Patparganj Election Results 2020: Manish Sisodia wins after daylong see-saw battle

After securing a massive win, Raghav Chadha, as quoted by news agency ANI said, “People of Delhi have proven that Delhi's son Arvind Kejriwal isn't a terrorist but a true patriot. He's working for nation-building, the work he's doing is what constitutes patriotism. What BJP is doing, isn't patriotism. Delhi has reposed its trust in the Kejriwal government, and we will continue to work in public interest”.

The Rajinder Nagar seat witnessed a triangular contest between AAP, BJP and Congress. The AAP has fielded Raghav Chadha on Rajinder Nagar seat for the 2020 elections replacing, the sitting MLA Vijender Garg.


On New Delhi district’s Rajinder Nagar seat, the voter turnout recorded for the 2020 polls was 58.27 per cent. The seat currently held by AAP’s Vijender Garg Vijay, who defeated BJP’s RP Singh.


The seat witnessed a close contest in the 2015 assembly elections as AAP’s Vijender Garg defeated BJP’s RP Singh with a margin of just 20,051 votes. Vijender Garg Vijay of the AAP garnered 61,354 votes, while BJP’s RP Singh received 41,303 votes. Rajinder Nagar had 1,82,530 registered voters in 2015. Of them, 1,04,294 were male and 78,227 were female voters.

Also Read: 'We couldn't convince people': Gautam Gambhir congratulates Kejriwal as AAP looks set to retain Delhi

The Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 was held on February 8. The total voter turnout recorded was 62 per cent. The exit polls on the day of voting suggested a clear majority for the Aam Aadmi Party.  

Posted By: Talib Khan