New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Arvind Kejriwalled Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won eight seats in the East Delhi while the BJP has won the Vishwas Nagar Assembly Constituency and is likely to win Vishwas Nagar where its candidate Abhay Verma is leading against AAP's Nitin Tyagi.

Earlier, the Exit Polls had predicted that Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will likely retain power in the national capital while the seat tally of the BJP will improve. On the other hand, Congress is likely to struggle to open its account once again. In East Delhi, there are ten Assembly Constituencies: Jangpura, Okhla, Trilokpuri, Kondli, Patparganj, Laxmi Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Gandhi Nagar and Shahdra. In 2015, the AAP, under the leadership of Arvind Kejriwal, had won nine out of these ten seats. The only seat where it lost the election was the Vishwas Nagar seat where BJP candidate Om Prakash Sharma defeated AAP’s Dr. Atul Gupta.

East Delhi Assembly Results 2020 LIVE:

19:41 pm: AAP wins eight seats, BJP wins one, leading on another.

15:26 pm: "I am happy to become the MLA from Patparganj assembly constituency again. BJP tried to do politics of hate but people of Delhi chose a government that works for the people," says Manish Sisodia

13:57 pm: Aam Aadmi Party's Manish Sisodia trailing behind BJP's Ravi Negi, by 1223 votes, after 10th round of counting, in Patparganj assembly constituency

12:36 pm: Subhash Chopra, Delhi Congress Chief: I take responsibility for the party's performance, we will analyse the factors behind this. Reason for the drop in our vote percentage is politics of polarization by both BJP and AAP.

12:35 pm: Aam Aadmi Party's Manish Sisodia trailing behind BJP's Ravi Negi, by a margin of 2182 votes, in Patparganj assembly constituency, after 6th round of counting.

12:15 pm: AAP's Amanatullah Khan has taken a massive lead against BJP's Braham Singh in the Okhla Assembly  Constituency.

11:55 am: AAP's Manish Sisodia trailing behind BJP's Ravi Negi by 1576 votes, in Patparganj assembly constituency, after fifth round of counting.

11:14 am: Manish Sisodia is trailing by more than 1,500 votes against BJP's Ravinder Singh Negi

10:39 am: AAP's Amanatullah Khan takes lead in Okhla

10:33 am: AAP leading on eight seats, BJP ahead on two seats

9:43 am: BJP leading on three seats, AAP on seven seats.

9:32 am: Amanatullah Khan trailing from Okhla.

9:24 am: Wait for the final result, we are going to register a massive win, says AAP's Sanjay Singh

9:03 am: From Shahdra, AAP is leading.

8:57 am: Amanatullah Khan leading from Okhla.

8:57 am: Sanjeev Kumar, Returning officer, AC-55 Trilokpuri: There are total 13 rounds of counting. Right now, postal ballots are being counted. The first round of counting will be completed by around 9 am. First trends will emerge around 10 am.

8:50 am: AAP leading on 8 seats, BJP ahead on 2 seats: Initial trends

8:40 am: Manish Sisodia leading from Patparganj.

8:39 am: AAP leading in Krishna Nagar.

8:39 am: AAP leading in Laxmi Nagar.

8:34 am: AAP's Praveen Kumar leading from Jangpura.

8:26 am: Arvind Kejriwal arrives at AAP's headquarters.

8:09 am: AAP's Amanatullah Khan is leading from Okhla.

8:00 am: Counting of votes have begin.

7:54 am: Counting to begin shortly.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma