New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The national capital on Saturday voted to elect the 70 members of the Delhi Assembly constituency. The polling began at 8.00 am in the morning and ended at 6.00 pm.

According to the voter turnout app of the Election Commission, a turnout of 54.88 per cent was recorded in West Delhi. In West Dehli, Nangoli Jat saw a turnout of 53.15 per cent while 51.85 per cent turnout Moti Nagar. 60.73 per cent turnout was recorded in Madipur (SC) while 44.70 per cent was recorded in Rajouri Garden. Hari Nagar saw a turnout of 57.35 per cent while 58.60 per cent turnout was recorded in Tilak Nagar. In Janakpuri, the turnout was recorded at 59.12 per cent.

Meanwhile, in North West Delhi, a turnout 54.35 per cent was recorded. In Rithala, a turnout of 51.20 per cent was record while it was 57 per cent in Mundka. In Kirari it was 55.67 per cent while in Sultanpur Majra (SC) it was 50.34 per cent. In Mangol Puri (SC), a turnout of 59.59 per cent was recorded while in Shalimar Bagh, it was 45.68 per cent. In Tri Nagar, a turnout of 60.97 per cent was recorded.

Polling across 70 Assembly seats in Delhi was held on Saturday. The national capital is witnessing a triangular contest among the ruling AAP, which won a landslide majority in the last elections, the BJP and the Congress.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP is hoping to retain power for the second consecutive term. Similarly, the BJP is hopeful to gain a majority by cashing in on the popularity of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The Congress, which was in power for 15 years at a stretch in Delhi under the leadership of former Chief Minister late Sheila Dixit till the party lost to AAP in 2015 polls, will be hoping for a revival.

AAP is contesting on all 70 seats, while the BJP has fielded its candidates on 67 seats and has left three seats for its allies -- two for JD-U and one for LJP. On the other hand, Congress is contesting on 66 seats and has given four seats to its ally RJD.

(With ANI inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma