New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: While the voting for the Assembly election is underway in the national capital, a polling officer posted at Babarpur Assembly constituency died on Saturday. The voting for Delhi assembly elections started at 8 am today will continue till 6 pm. The results of the elections will be declared on February 11.

Confirming the news of the death of the polling officer, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer Ranbir Singh said, as quoted by IANS, "Yes, one of our polling officer number 3, Udham Singh passed away this morning."

According to the poll panel officials, Singh passed away after a cardiac arrest. A poll officer said that Singh, a teacher, was deployed for election duty at an MCD primary school in Babarpur Assembly constituency and in the morning he complained of chest pain and uneasiness.

"Around 6.30 a.m. he was taken to GTB hospital where he was declared dead," the poll officer said. "However, the real cause of his death will be ascertained by the doctors. His body has been sent for autopsy," the official said.

Voting for the 70-member Assembly is underway in Delhi where the ruling AAP, BJP and the Congress are in a direct fight against each other. Counting of votes will take place on February 11.

Catch all the LIVE Updates of Delhi Assembly Elections here: 

Over 1.47 crore people are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls that will decide the fate of 672 candidates in 70 assembly constituencies which are seeing a triangular contest among the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), opposition BJP and the Congress. Poll officials said 3.66 per cent votes were cast in the first hour of voting, which began at 8 am.

Former vice president Hamid Ansari and BJP national secretary Ram Lal were among those who queued up outside the Nirman Bhavan polling station in the first hour of voting.

Chief Minister and AAP national convener Arvind Kejriwal, who is eyeing to repeat his party's 2015 assembly performance, voted at the Rajpura Transport Authority polling station in the Civil Lines area.

Kejriwal, who is contesting the polls from the New Delhi seat, was accompanied by his wife Sunita and son Pulkit. Before leaving for voting, he sought his parent's blessings.

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 | 'Appeal everyone to participate in this festival of democracy': PM Modi, Arvind Kejriwal urge voters to turn up in record numbers

President Ram Nath Kovind, former prime minister Manmohan Singh, West Delhi MP Parvesh Verma and Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari have voted.



(With IANS Inputs)

Posted By: Talib Khan