New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) has released names of seven candidates for upcoming Delhi Elections 2020. Aam Aadmi Party's sitting MLA from Delhi Cantt - Commando Surender Singh (who has resigned from AAP) has been fielded from the constituency by the party. Earlier on Tuesday, Singh said that he was denied the AAP party ticket for the upcoming Delhi Assembly election. Sharing his resignation letter on Twitter, he said, "Today, I'm sad and I'm giving my resignation letter from the Aam Aadmi Party."

Other candidates in the list includes Chaoudhary Fateh Singh (Gokulpur), Zahid Ali (Babarpur), Prashant Gaur (Gonda), Rana Sujeet Singh (Chattarpur), Mayur Bhan (Mustafabad) and Asim Baig (Chandani Chowk).

Also Read: Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 | After SAD, BJP's Haryana ally JJP pulls out of polls, says ‘EC assigned chosen symbol to others’

Voting in Delhi will be carried out in a single phase. The assembly elections is schedule dto take place on February 8 while the counting of votes will be carried out on February 11 (Tuesday).

Date of poll is 8th February, 2020 and counting of votes will take place on 11th February.

Total electors in NCT of Delhi are 1,46,92,136; Polling to be held at 13,750 polling stations," Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Arora said earlier this month, while announcing the key dates.

January 21 was the last date for filing nomination. The last date of candidature withdrawal is January 24 (Friday).

There are 13,750 polling stations in Delhi and a total of 70 seats in Delhi out of which the ruling Aam Admi Party (AAP) won 67 seats in the last assembly election. Three main political parties are in fray for the election are AAP, BJP and the Congress.

Posted By: James Kuanal