New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The polling for the much-awaited Assembly Election in Delhi will be done on February 8 while the results will be announced on February 11. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), under the leadership of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, is seeking to retain the power in the national capital amid a challenge from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

On the other hand, the Congress, which governed the national capital from 1998 to 2013, is hoping to spring a surprise after failing to win even a single seat in the 2015 Assembly Election.

As the national capital gears for the assembly polls, here’s a look at the key constituencies and the candidates standing from there:   

New Delhi:

AAP chief and CM Kejriwal is contesting from this seat. He is contesting against BJP’s Sunil Kumar Yadav and Congress’ Romesh Sabharwal. Kejriwal, in 2015, had won from this seat.


Sitting MLA and deputy CM Manish Sisodia will once again try his hand from this seat. He will be contesting against BJP’s Ravinder Singh Negi and Congress’ Laxman Rawat.

Patel Nagar:

In 2015, AAP’s Hazari Lal Chauhan had won from this seat. This time the party, however, has fielded Raaj Kumar Anand. He will be competing against BJP’s Pravesh Ratn and Congress’ Krishna.


Mangol Puri:

Mangol Puri, a reserved constituency, will see a straight contest between AAP’s Rakhi Birla, BJP’s Karam Singh Karma and Congress’ Rajesh Lilothia.

Sadar Bazar:

Sadar Bazar is the assembly constituency is a part of the Chandni Chowk. Here the contest will be between AAP’s Som Dutt, BJP’s Jai Parkash and Congress’ Satbir Sharma.


AAP leader Rajendra Pal Gautam had won this seat in 2015. This year he will fight against LJP’s Sant Lal and Congress’ Veer Singh Dhingan.

Model Town:

BJP leader Kapil Mishra will be contesting against sitting MLA and AAP leader Akhilesh Pati Tripathi. From Congress, Akanksha Ola will contest from this seat.   

Kasturba Nagar:

AAP leader Madan Lal had won from this seat in 2015. This year, he will be taking on BJP’s Ravinder Choudhry and Congress’ Abhishek Dutt.


Kalkaji is part of South Delhi Lok Sabha constituency along with nine other Vidhan Sabha segments. From here, AAP leader Atishi is standing against BJP’s Dharamvir Singh and Congress’ Shivani Chopra.

Model Town:

Model Town assembly constituency is a part of Chandni Chowk (Lok Sabha constituency). From here, AAP’s Akhilesh Pati Tripathi is contesting against BJP’s Kapil Mishra and Congress’ Akanksha Ola.


Vikaspuri is part of West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency along with nine other Vidhan Sabha segments. AAP leader Mahinder Yadav is contesting against BJP’s Sanjay Singh and Congress’ Mukesh Sharma.

Laxmi Nagar:

Laxmi Nagar, which is a part of the East Delhi (Lok Sabha constituency), will see a contest between AAP’s Nitin Tyagi, BJP’s Abhay Kumar Verma and Congress’ Hari Dutt Sharma.


In 2015, AAP’s Manoj Kumar had won from this seat. However, this year the party had fielded Kuldeep Kumar. He will be up against BJP’s Raj Kumar and Congress’ Amrish Singh Gautam.


Bhavna Gaur of AAP is standing from this seat against BJP’s Vijay Pandit and RJD’s Nirmal Kumar Sharma.


Mahinder Goyal of AAP had won against BJP’s Kulwant Rana in 2015. This time Goyal would be up against BJP’s Manish Chaudhary and Congress’ Prdeep Kumar Pandey.   

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma