New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Congress on Saturday evening announced its first list of 54 candidates for the assembly elections in Delhi. According to the list, former AAP leader Alka Lamba will contest from Chandni Chowk, Arvinder Singh Lovely from Gandhi Nagar while Adarsh Shastri will contest from Dwarka.

The party has also fielded Poonam Azad, Congress' election campaign committee chairman Kirti Azad’s wife, from the Sangam Vihar seat. On the other hand, former Delhi minister Ashok Kumar Walia will contest from Krishna Nagar constituency, Haroon Yusuf from Ballimaran and Mateen Ahamad from Seelampur. 

Neetu Verma has been fielded from Malviya Nagar while daughter of three-time MLA Subhash Chopra, Shivani Chopra, will fight from the Kalkaji constituency against AAP leader Atishi. Congress has also field former Union Minister Krishna Tirath from the Patel Nagar seat.

Meanwhile, Lakshman Rawat will contest against deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia at the Patparganj seat. The party, however, has not decided its candidate against Delhi Chief Minister and AAP supremo Arvind Kejriwal from the New Delhi seat. 

The Congress' list comes a day after the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) announced its first list of candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in the national capital. The ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has already announced its list of candidates for the Delhi Assembly Elections. 

The voting for the assembly polls in Delhi will be done on February 8 while the counting of votes will take place on February 11.

Elections to the 70-member Delhi Assembly promises to be a triangular contest with the AAP hoping to retain power on the plank of development and the BJP and the Congress determined to put up a spirited challenge.

According to the final electoral roll, over 1.46 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the February 8 Assembly election in Delhi. The term of the 70-member Delhi Assembly is ending on February 22 and a new House has to be constituted before that.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma