New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Saturday appealed the people of the national capital to vote in record numbers as the polling for the 70 seats of Delhi Assembly began at 8 am.

"Today is the voting day for the Delhi Assembly elections. My appeal to all voters is that they participate in this festival of democracy in maximum number and create a new voting record. Urging the people of Delhi, especially my young friends, to vote in record numbers," said PM Modi in a tweet.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal urged women to vote in the Delhi Assembly polls on Saturday, saying like their home, the nation is also their responsibility. In a tweet in Hindi, he said they should also take along the men in their houses for voting.

Catch all the LIVE updates of the polling in Delhi here

"You must go to vote. Special appeal to all women - Just like you bear the responsibility of home, the responsibility of the country and Delhi is also on you. All of you ladies must go to vote and also take the men of your house. Make sure to discuss with men about who are the right ones to vote for," Kejriwal said.

The polling for the 70-member Delhi Assembly got underway on Saturday morning, an election that saw the ruling AAP, opposition BJP and the Congress engaged in a bitterly fought high-octane campaign.

Over 1.47 crore people are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls that will decide the fate of 672 candidates.

The polling began at 8 am and will end at 6 pm, an official said.

Security forces kept a tight watch across the 70 constituencies, with police and paramilitary personnel keeping an "extra vigil" in sensitive areas like Shaheen Bagh, Jamia Nagar and Seelampuri.

There are over 81 lakh male voters, 66.80 lakh female voters, and 869 third-gender voters, Delhi Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh has said.

Around 2.33 lakh voters are in the age group of 18-19, 2.04 lakh voters are senior citizens aged 80, while there are 11,608 service voters, according to officials.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma