New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Sunday said that it was 'absolutely shocking' that even a day after the assembly polls in the national capital, the Election Commission of India (ECI) has not released the final turnout percentage of the polls.

"Absolutely shocking. What is EC doing? Why are they not releasing poll turnout figures, several hours after polling?," Kejriwal said in a tweet.


The voting for the 70 member assembly seats in Delhi ended at 6.00 pm on Saturday and even after 22 hours, the Election Commission has not released how many of the 1.47 crore eligible residents voted. The data is generally released on the same evening of the polls. 

Also Read | 'Will think of alliance with AAP post result': Congress claims Exit Polls are 'not correct'

The last voting percentage given by the commission on Saturday night was 61.46 per cent. The voting in the national capital to elect a new government ended at 6 pm on Saturday.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission's Voter Turnout app, says that the voting percentage was 61.67 per cent at 10.26 pm on Saturday. The poll percentage was 67.12 per cent in the 2015 election when the ruling Aam Aadmi Party had secured a landslide victory by winning 67 seats.

Talking to reporters, senior AAP leader Sanjay Singh said that this is perhaps the first time in the country's history that the Election Commission is not ready to release voter turnout data.

Singh had also slammed the EC for a lower voter turnout, saying that it should ensure that more and more voters can take part in this exercise and solve issues quickly.

Also Read | ‘Will win 48 seats’: BJP waits for ‘exact poll results’; AAP stays upbeat and guarded

"The biggest responsibility of a good voter turnout is of the EC. From what information I have got I heard that some people were standing in voting lines for over two hours and then returned back to their homes. Voting is very slow. That is why the percentage is lagging behind," he had said.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma