New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: A voter turnout of 20.25 per cent was recorded till 1.00 pm on Saturday in Delhi with long queues of voters being seen outside many booths as the day progressed.


According to the voter turnout of the Election Commission, the maximum turnout was recorded in Mustafabad with 33.87 per cent while the lowest was recorded in Vikaspuri where the turnout was just 0.75 per cent.


Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, who is seeking a second term, voted at the Rajpur Transport Authority polling station in the Civil Lines area. He was accompanied by his wife and his children. After casting his vote, the Delhi Chief Minister said that he is hopeful that the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) would form government for the third time in Delhi.


"Voted along with my family, including my first-time voter son. Urge all young voters to come out to vote. Your participation strengthens democracy," Kejriwal tweeted.


Catch all the LIVE updates of the polling in Delhi here


Apart from Kejriwal, President Ram Nath Kovind, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, West Delhi MP Parvesh Verma and Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari also exercised their right. Union Ministers Dr. S Jaishankar, Hardeep Singh Puri were also among those who cast their vote.


Over 1.47 crore people are eligible to exercise their franchise in the polls that will decide the fate of 672 candidates in 70 assembly constituencies which are seeing a triangular contest among the ruling AAP, opposition BJP and the Congress.


Poll officials said 14.75 per cent votes were cast in the first three hours of voting, which began at 8 am. Polling will end at 6 pm.


Polling for the 70 seats of Delhi Assembly began at 8 am in the national capital amid tight security on Saturday. The voting will continue till 6 pm in the evening.


The city is witnessing a triangular contest among the ruling AAP, which won a landslide majority in the last elections, the BJP and the Congress. In the last poll, the AAP had won 67 seats, the BJP 3. Congress didn't open its account.


(With PTI inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma