New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party looks set to retain power in Delhi as official trends released by the Election Commission for all 70 seats in the national capital show the AAP leading on 56 seats and the BJP on 14 seats.

The trends fall in line with the exit polls which predicted a big win for the AAP, along with a jump in BJP’s seat share against its 2015 poll tally. 

Following the trends, political strategist Prashant Kishor, whose organisation IPAC was roped in to steer the AAP's poll campaigning for Delhi assembly elections, congratulated the voters for "protecting the soul of India."

As per the latest trends, Kejriwal was leading from New Delhi constituency by over 4,000 votes against BJP candidate Sunil Kumar Yadav. However, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia was trailing behind BJP's Ravi Negi by over 2,000 votes, in Patparganj assembly constituency after third round of voting. 

Prominent AAP leaders Atishi, Raghav Chadha and Dilip Pandey were leading in their constituencies over their respective BJP rivals. The AAP had dropped its sitting MLAs to field the three leaders, who unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha election last year.

Chadha, who replaced Vijender Garg in Rajinder Nagar, was ahead of BJP's Sardar RP Singh by over 17,000 votes. Congress's Rocky Tuseed, the youngest candidate in the assembly election, was at the third position with only 928 votes.

Atishi, who replaced Avtar Singh Kalka in Kalkaji, was trailing initially but surged ahead by over 200 votes by 11.30 am. BJP's Dharambir Singh was close second while Delhi Congress chief Subhash Chopra's daughter Shivani Chopra was a distant third.

Pandey, who replaced Pankaj Pushkar in Timarpur constituency, was leading with over 5,000 votes. BJP's Surender Pal Singh was at the second position.

AAP's Durgesh Pathak was trailing by over 6,600 votes in Karawal Nagar, previously held by party rebel Kapil Mishra. Mishra later joined BJP and is contesting from Model Town. 

Seelampur, which had witnessed incidents of violence during a protest against the Citizenship (Amendment) Act, saw Aam Aadmi Party candidate Abdul Rehman leading by 420 votes with BJP's Kaushal Kumar Mishra in the second position.

Exit polls on Saturday predicted an easy win for the Aam Aadmi Party, which sought to retain power on development plank, against the BJP that ran an aggressive campaign centred around the issues of anti-CAA protests and nationalism.

Looking to capture power after 22 years, the BJP had mounted one of the most aggressive campaigns in the Delhi Assembly polls, with Union Home Minister Amit Shah leading the saffron charge on its planks of Hindutva and nationalism, and its strident opposition to Shaheen Bagh protests.

The issue often dominated the political discourse during the campaign, with many BJP leaders targeting the ruling AAP, and the Congress, accusing them of "misleading people" holding anti-CAA protests in Delhi.

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta