New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The polling to elect the 70 member assembly constituency in Delhi was held on Saturday. The polling began on 8.00 am in the morning and will continue till 6.00 pm in the evening.

In East Delhi, a turnout of 56.08 per cent was recorded. In East Delhi’s Trilokpuri (SC) a turnout of 43.22 per cent was recorded while in Kondli (SC), a turnout of 60.84 per cent recorded. In Partparganj, a turnout of 56.11 per cent was recorded while in Laxmi Nagar the turnout was 54.95 per cent. In Krishna Nagar, a turnout of 62.51 per cent was recorded while in Gandhi Nagar the turnout was 58.91 per cent.

In North East Delhi, the turnout was recorded at 62.60 per cent. In North East Delhi’s Seelampur, the turnout was 60.63 per cent while 60.52 per cent turnout was recorded in Ghonda. In Gokalpur (SC), the turnout was 61. 96 per cent, in Mustafabad it was 66.29 per cent while it was 63.24 per cent in Karawal Nagar.

Polling across 70 Assembly seats is underway in Delhi. The national capital is witnessing a triangular contest among the ruling AAP, which won a landslide majority in the last elections, the BJP and the Congress.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP is hoping to retain power for the second consecutive term. Similarly, the BJP is hopeful to gain a majority by cashing in on the popularity of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The Congress, which was in power for 15 years at a stretch in Delhi under the leadership of former Chief Minister late Sheila Dixit till the party lost to AAP in 2015 polls, will be hoping for a revival.

AAP is contesting on all 70 seats, while the BJP has fielded its candidates on 67 seats and has left three seats for its allies -- two for JD-U and one for LJP. On the other hand, Congress is contesting on 66 seats and has given four seats to its ally RJD.

(With ANI inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma