New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman along with senior BJP leaders Bhupender Yadav, Nityanand Rai, Ashwini Choubey, and Pramod Kumar on Thursday released the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) manifesto for the upcoming Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, in Patna. The BJP has named its 'ghoshna patr' (manifesto) as ‘Paanch sutra, Ek lakshya, 11 Sankalp’.

In its manifesto, the saffron party has promised jobs for 19 lakh youths in the state in the next five years and also expressed its vision to convert Bihar into an IT Hub. The BJP, if returned to power, also promised to provide pucca houses to around 30 lakh people in the state before 2022.

“Bihar is one state where all citizens are politically sensitive and well informed. They know and understand the promises a party makes. If anyone raises questions on our manifesto, we can answer them with confidence as we fulfil what we promised,” Nirmala Sitharaman said, as quoted by news agency ANI, during the launch of the manifesto.

Apart from houses and jobs, the BJP has also promised a free COVID-19 vaccination for all the people in the state. "As soon as COVID-19 vaccine will be available for production at a mass scale, every person in Bihar will get free vaccination. This is the first promise mentioned in our poll manifesto", Sitharaman said.

Heaping praise on the NDA government in the sate, Sitharaman said that Bihar's GDP has witnessed a sharp rise from 3 per cent to 11 per cent during the 15 years of NDA rule. She said that it was made possible because the NDA government gave priority to good governance.

"GDP in Bihar has seen a sharp rise under NDA rule, it has grown from 3% to 11.3% in the state in the last 15 years of NDA govt and not during the 15 years of jungle raj. It was made possible because our govt gave priority to good governance for people", Sitharaman said.

"I appeal to all the people of the state to vote for NDA and make it win. Nitish Kumar will be the Chief Minister of Bihar for the next 5 years. Under his rule, Bihar will become a progressive & developed state of India", she added.

The BJP is contesting the Bihar Assembly polls in alliance with the Janata Dal (United) JD(U), Hindustani Awam Morcha-Secular (HAM-S) and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) as a part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

The Assembly Elections in Bihar are scheduled to be held in three phases. While the voting for the first will take place on October 28, the voting for the second phase will be held on November 3. The voting for the third phase is scheduled to take place on November 7 and the results for the Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 will be announced on November 10.

Posted By: Talib Khan