New Delhi | Jagran Politics Desk: The NDA managed to overpower a stiff challenge from the RJD-led Grand Alliance in Bihar with the BJP-JD(U) combine to retain Bihar, As per the Election Commission trends till 11 pm on November 10, the Mahagathbandhan was leading on 110 seats against NDA's 125. 

Interestingly, the RJD emerged as the single largest party with 75 seats in its kitty. The BJP won 73 seats, leaving far behind its ally JD(U) which managed to win on 43 seats only.  

However, the vote and seat shares of the parties have witnessed a sharp contrast as compared to the 2015 assembly elections. Let’s take a look at the data of the counting done till 11 pm on November 10:

The BJP’s vote share as compared to 2015 assembly polls has gone down by 5.12 per cent. However, what should be mentioned here is that in this year’s election, the BJP contested only 121 seats while in 2015, it had fielded candidates in 157 seats. The drop in seats contested has, thus, taken the BJP’s leading seats count up by 20.

Meanwhile, the JD(U) seems to have bore the loss of Chirag Paswan-led LJP walking out the alliance. In 2015, the JD(U) won on 71 of the 101 seats it contested, while in 2020, Nitish Kumar’s party could win only 43 of the 115 seats it contested. This is a drop of 1.43 per cent in terms of vote share along with a drop of 20 seats where the party was leading.

On the other hand, the RJD under the leadership of Tejashwi Yadav seems to have bagged major gains with its vote share going up by 4.75 per cent. However, its share in leading seats has gone down by 4, owing to the lesser numbers of seats contested this year.

Posted By: Abhinav Gupta