Patna | Jagran News Desk: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has managed to retain crucial Purnia seat. Party leader Vijay Kumar Khemka has defeated Congress' Indu Sinha by a margin of 32,154 votes. The election commission informed that Khemka received 97,757 votes while Sinha managed 65,603.

Catch all the LIVE updates on Bihar Assembly Election Results 2020 here

Meanwhile, Purnia went to polls in the third phase of the three-phased Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. This year, Khemka was up against Congress’ Indu Singh, whom he had defeated by nearly 33,000 votes in 2015 Bihar Assembly Elections. In 2015, Khemka won 92,020 or 49.26 per cent votes, while Sinha secured 59,205 or 31.70 per cent votes.

Here are the highlights from the big story:

00:51 am: BJP's Vijay Kumar Khemka has won the high-profile seat of Purnia. He has defeated Congress' Indu Sinha by a margin of 32,154.

17:54 pm: Latest EC Trends:

17:39 pm: BJP's Vijay Kumar Khemka has gained a lead of nearly 30,000 votes against Congress' Indu Sinha.

16:05 pm:

15:39 pm: "EVMs are not tamper-proof, and selective tampering is done. There are seats that we would have not lost in any circumstance but we did by thousands of votes. We'll hold a meeting tomorrow and analyse the results," says senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh.

14:35 pm: 

13:53 pm: Bihar Election Results 2020: As NDA leads the race, an interesting change in vote and seat shares of BJP, JD(U) and RJD

12:35 pm: Bihar Election Results 2020: Advantage NDA as it crosses half-way mark; BJP emerges as single-largest party

12:30 pm: As per EC, Khemka has received 17,351 votes so far while Sinha has got 8,156 votes so far.

12:15 pm: According to election commission, BJP's Vijay Kumar Khemka has taken lead of 9,195 votes against Congress' Indu Sinha. 

11:03 am: Purnia is BJP stronghold over the years and it looks like the saffron party will once again be able win this crucial seat. 

9:30 am: According to initial trends, BJP's Vijay Kumar Khemka is leading in Purnia.  

8:43 am: Bihar Election Results 2020 Key Highlights: Counting underway, Nitish Kumar seeks to retain state 

8:25 am: The initial trends, meanwhile, say that the Mahagathbandan is ahead on 46 seats while the NDA alliance in leading on 24 seats. 

8:01 am: Initially, the postal ballot votes will be counted. The EVM votes will be counted later.

8:00 am: The counting of votes for Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 has begun.

7:45 am: This year, however, it is expected that he will face a stiff challenge from the Congress.

7:44 am: Talking about Khemka, he has been winning from seat since 2000.

7:42 am: While the BJP has reposed its faith in Vijay Kumar Khemka in Purnia, the Congress has fieded Indu Sinha this year on this high-profile seat.

6:27 am: The initial trends are expected to come out in an hour.

6:27 am: The counting of votes, as per the election commission, will begin at 8 am.

6:27 am: The election results will be declared today.

The three-phase Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 commenced on October 28 with 71 constituencies going to polls. The second phase of polling was held on November 3 with 94 constituencies going to polls. On the other hand, 78 assembly constituencies went to polls in the third and final phase of polling on November 7. The fate of the candidates will now be declared on Tuesday.

The election commission had earlier informed that nearly 3.12 lakh people were eligible for a vote this year. Out of the total number of voters, 1.63 lakh were males and 1.49 lakh were females. On the other hand, just nine were from the third gender.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma