Patna | Jagran News Desk: Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader and former Chief Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav's elder son Taj Pratap Yadav has managed to beat Janata Dal-United candidate Raj Kumar Ray by a margin of 21,139 votes. According to information available at the website of election commission, Tej received 80,991 votes while Ray managed to get around 59,852 votes. Tej's vote share was 47.27 per cent while Ray had a vote share of 34.93 per cent.  

Tej, who had last contested from Mahua, was fielded against Ray who is a sitting MLA in Hasanpur. The RJD had decided to field Tej from Hasanpur because it reportedly feared that his marital dispute case with his wife Aishwarya can hamper his chances in Mahua.  

Catch all the LIVE updates from Bihar Assembly Elections 2020 here

Here are the highlights from election results in Hasanpur:

19:55 pm: Tej Pratap Yadav has won the important Vidhan Sabha seat of Hasanpur. He has managed to defeat JDU's Raj Kumar Ray by a margin of 21,139.

19:30 pm: RJD leader Tej Pratap Yadav leading over JD(U)'s Raj Kumar Ray in Hasanpur Assembly Constituency, as per Election Commission trends.

17:53 pm: Latest EC Trends:

17:43 pm: Tej Pratap Yadav has taken a lead of 13,199 against RJD's Raj Kumar Ray.

15:43 pm: According to election commission, Tej Pratap Yadav is now leading by a margin of 5,147 votes against JDU's Raj Kumar Ray. 

15:38 pm: "EVMs are not tamper-proof, and selective tampering is done. There are seats that we would have not lost in any circumstance but we did by thousands of votes. We'll hold a meeting tomorrow and analyse the results," says senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh.

14:36 pm: 

14:32 pm: Bihar Election Results 2020: Breather for RJD as Tej Pratap Yadav takes lead over JDU's Raj Kumar Ray in Hasanpur

14:31 pm: Meanwhile, the EC has said that the polling will continue till late evening.

13:52 pm: Bihar Election Results 2020: As NDA leads the race, an interesting change in vote and seat shares of BJP, JD(U) and RJD

12:12 pm: Bihar Election Results 2020: Advantage NDA as it crosses half-way mark; BJP emerges as single-largest party

12:10 pm: The election commission, meanwhile, will address the media at 1.30 pm today. 

12:00 pm: In another turnaround, Tejashwi Yadav's elder brother Tej Pratap Yadav has taken lead over JDU's Raj Kumar Ray on this high-profile seat once again.

10:58 am: Tej Pratap was fielded against Raj Kumar Ray and the RJD had expected that he would be retake this crucial assembly seat for it. 

10:16 am: Tej Pratap Yadav is now trailing in Hasanpur. 

9:22 am: Tej Pratap Yadav is consolidating his position in Hasanpur. The official trends suggest that he is leading on this high-profile seat.

8:42 am: Bihar Election Results 2020 Key Highlights: Counting underway, Nitish Kumar seeks to retain state 

8:33 am: Early trends suggest that Tej Pratap Yadav is leading in Hasanpur.

8:23 am: Meanwhile, the initial trends suggest that the JDU-BJP alliance is ahead of 24 seats while the Grand Alliance is leading in 42 seats.

8:17 am: "Tejashwi Bhav Bihar," says Tej Pratap Yadav as counting of votes begins.

8:00 am: Counting of votes for Bihar Assembly Election Results has started.

7:52 am: However, he has been fielded from Hasanpur this year because the RJD was reportedly feared that his marital dispute case with his wife Aishwarya can hamper his chances in Mahua.

7:47 am: Talking about Tej, he had contested the 2015 assembly polls from Mahua.  

7:45 am: Tej is pitted against JDU's Raj Kumar Ray. Ray has strong presence on this seat and has been winning in here since 2010.

6:35 am: Tej Pratap Yadav, Lalu Prasad Yadav's elder son, has been fielded from Hasanpur this year.

6:34 am: The counting of votes will begin at 8 am, informed the election commission.

6:33 am: The Bihar Assembly Election Results will be declared today.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma