Patna | Jagran News Desk: In a big setback for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Rashtriya Janata Dal's (RJD) Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has defeated the saffron party candidate Om Prakash Yadav. Yadav, who got 74,812 votes, was defeated by Chaudhary -- who received 76,785 votes -- by a margin of 1,973 votes.

Siwan Vidhan Sabha Assembly Constituency, which falls in the Siwan district, went to polls in the second phase of the three-phased Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. A region dominated by Yadavs, Siwan has been a BJP bastion over the years. In 2015, this seat had witnessed a thrilling contest between JD(U)’s Bablu Prasad and BJP’s Vyas Deo. Despite facing stiff competition from Prasad, Deo was able to win this seat for the BJP as he defeated the JD(U) candidate by a margin of 3,534 votes.

Catch all the LIVE updates of Bihar Assembly Election Results 2020 here

Here are the highlights from the big story:

22:35 pm: In a setback from the BJP, RJD's Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has defeated BJP's Om Prakash Yadav on this crucial seat. 

17:56 pm: Latest EC Trends:

17:22 pm: Om Prakash Yadav is leading against Awadh Bihari Chaudhary by a margin of more than 3,000 votes. 

16:10 pm: 

15:40 pm: "EVMs are not tamper-proof, and selective tampering is done. There are seats that we would have not lost in any circumstance but we did by thousands of votes. We'll hold a meeting tomorrow and analyse the results," says senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh.

14:34 pm: 

13:54 pm: Bihar Election Results 2020: As NDA leads the race, an interesting change in vote and seat shares of BJP, JD(U) and RJD

11:58 am: Meanwhile, the Election Commission will address the media at 1.30 pm today.

11:55 am: According to election commission, Om Prakash Yadav has received 12,964 votes so far while RJD's Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has 11,443 votes to his name. 

11:50 am: BJP leader Om Prakash Yadav has once again taken a lead over RJD's Awadh Bihari Chaudhary on this crucial seat.  

11:07 am: Talking about the Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, Nitish Kumar is seeking reelection while the RJD is trying to make a comeback in the state after 15 years.

10:27 am: In Siwan, RJD's Awadh Bihari Chaudhary has taken a lead of over 700 votes BJP's Om Prakash Yadav.  

10:25 am: "A year ago, RJD couldn't win a single seat in Lok Sabha polls. As per Lok Sabha results, JDU and allies were to win over 200 seats. In last one year, nothing has harmed brand Nitish or added to brand RJD, we're losing only due to COVID-19 impact," says Janata Dal (United) leader KC Tyagi, as reported by news agency ANI.

8:43 am: Bihar Election Results 2020 Key Highlights: Counting underway, Nitish Kumar seeks to retain state 

8:31 am: Initial trends suggest that Grand Alliance is leading 76 seats while BJP is ahead on 42. 

8:00 am: The counting of votes has begun. The initial trends are expected to be out around 9 am.

7:00 am: Though, the Siwan Vidhan Sabha Constituency is considered to be a BJP bastion.

6:59 am: It is expected that a fierce fight will take place in Siwan.

6:58 am: Siwan is one of the important seats in Bihar that went to polls in the second phase of the assembly elections.

6:18 am: In Siwan, the fate of BJP's Om Prakash Yadav and RJD's Awadh Bihari Chaudhary will be decided.  

6:18 am: The counting of votes will begin at 8 am.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma