New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: The Election Commission on Saturday announced the schedule for the upcoming Assembly Elections in Maharashtra and Haryana. The polling will be done on October 21 while the results will be announced on October 24.

With the announcement of the schedule by the Election Commission, the Model Code of Conduct has come into effect which means that the current state governments will not be able to make any fresh announcements or roll out new schemes.

Also Read | Assembly Elections 2019: Check schedule and other details of polling in Haryana, Maharashtra

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora, in his press conference, also said that the five-year term of the Legislative Assemblies of Haryana and Maharashtra expires on 2nd November and 9th November.  

Arora also announced that the filing of nominations begin on September 27 and end on October 4. The Election Commissioner also appealed to the political parties to avoid the use of plastic and use only environment-friendly material in their campaigns. 

"Election campaigns impose an environmental cost upon us. We appeal to political parties to avoid use of plastic and use only environment-friendly material in their campaigns," said Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil Arora.

Also Read | Maharashtra, Haryana Assembly Polls 2019: Important Dates you need to know about

Arora further said that special security arrangements will be made for LWE affected areas in Gadchiroli and Gondia in Maharashtra. He also announced that By-elections to 64 constituencies across Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Assam, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, MP, Meghalaya, Odisha, Puducherry, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh will also be held on October 21.


The Polling will be held on October 24 in Maharashtra while the results will be announced on October 24. Parties have already geared-up and started their preparations for the upcoming Assembly elections in the state. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis also took out a Maha Jan Aadesh Yatra last month to reach out to voters across the state. PM Modi also addressed a rally at the close of the roadshow.  

Meanwhile, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray has announced that the BJP and Sena will contest the Assembly elections jointly and an announcement on the seat-sharing formula will be made in the next two days.

In 2014, the BJP emerged victorious as it won 122 seats in the 288-member assembly.


In Haryana, the polling will be held on October 21 while the results will be announced on October 24.

Here the BJP's situation is looking better as the Congress is still trying to recover in the state, riven by factionalism. In 2014, the saffron party won a majority for the first time in the 90-member state assembly. The BJP got 47 seats and decimated the Congress and Om Prakash Chautala's INLD. 

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma