Mumbai | Jagran News Desk: People of Maharashtra and Haryana will vote to elect a fresh Legislative Assembly on October 21 and thus all the preparations are done in the two states ahead of the polls.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) has made special arrangements for women, specially-abled and senior citizen voters in every booth.

In Maharashtra, pink polling stations named ‘Sakhi’ have been set up in Dharavi which and it will be run by women, said Ravindra Hajare, Returning Officer (RO) to news agency ANI.

Also Read | Assembly Elections 2019: Don’t have voter ID card? Here’s how you can vote using other ID proofs

“There are total 283 polling booths in Dharavi out of which 120 booths are temporary structures which are waterproof. One preceding officer and three polling officers have also been deployed at each booth and these teams have been trained at least thrice. They have been provided with the EVMs and other polling materials this morning,” he said.

Earlier on Friday, polling parties left for their respective polling booths, ahead of assembly polls.

“We have also made some other special arrangements like, we have arranged wheelchairs and special vehicles for disabled voters. We will pick them up from their residence and bring them to the polling booths so that they can cast their votes. Volunteers, medical teams and Anganwadi Sevikas are also present at every booth,” he said.

Also Read | Upraised by 'Modi Wave' in 2014 to prominent CM face in 2019, Manohar Lal Khattar, a safe bet for BJP

He further stated that EVM machines were thoroughly checked during the checking process. EVMs are being handed over to every booth on Sunday.

The campaigning in Maharashtra and Haryana for the Assembly elections 2019 concluded on Saturday. On the last day of campaigning for Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly elections, PM Modi addressed a rally at Rewari and Sirsa in Haryana, while Union Home Minister Amit Shah held rallies in Maharashtra.

Polling in the two states will be held on October 21 and the results will be announced on October 24. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is ruling in Haryana and in alliance with Shiv Sena in Maharashtra. In 2014, the BJP had won 47 seats off 90 while in Maharashtra, the party had won 122 seats off 288.

(With ANI inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma