New Delhi | Jagran News Desk: Assembly by-polls 2020: By-elections for 54 Assembly seats spreading across 10 states are being held on Tuesday, November 3. The by-elections are being held along with the second phase of Bihar Assembly Elections 2020. More than half of the Assembly seats where by-polls are being held are in Madhya Pradesh - 28. The by-elections in Madhya Pradesh is crucial and a litmus test for Congress rebel Jyotiraditya Scindia, whose revolt against CM Kamal Nath brought down the Congress government in Madhya Pradesh. He later joined BJP to help his sworn political enemy Shivraj Singh Chouhan return to power.

Besides Madhya Pradesh, eight Assembly seats are up for polls in Gujarat, while by-polls are underway for seven Uttar Pradesh Assembly seats. Two seats each in Odisha, Nagaland, Karnataka, and Jharkhand are also voting in the by-elections today. The by-polls are also being held for one seat each in Chhattisgarh, Telangana, and Haryana.

Highlights of by-polls:

5:00 pm: Voter turnout recorded till 5 pm across 10 states: Chattisgarh: 71.99%, Gujarat: 55.84%, Haryana: 61.57%, Jharkhand: 62.46%, Karnataka: 51.30%, Madhya Pradesh: 66.09%, Nagaland: 83.69%, Odisha: 68.08%, Telangana: 81.44%, Uttar Pradesh: 51.21%. 

4:15 pm: The highest polling percentage of 66.24 was in the tribal region of Dangs, followed by Karajan's 55.39, Abdasa 47.0, Morbi 46.25, and Kaprada 58.59. Limdi registered 50.32 per cent polling and Gadhada 42.83 per cent. Dhari registered least 33.07 per cent polling among all eight constituencies.

4:00 pm: Overall 49.46 per cent polling was recorded in by-elections in eight Gujarat Assembly seats till 4 pm on Tuesday, Election Commission data said.

3:00 pm: Over 40 per cent of the votes were cast till 3 pm on Tuesday in the ongoing by-elections to seven assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh where 88 candidates are contesting.

2:15 pm: Over 55 per cent of the electorate had cast their votes till 2 p.m. for bypolls to the two assembly seats in Nagaland on Tuesday. 

2:00 pm: We got reports of violence at few places away from polling booths. These incidents haven't affected polling. We're probing videos of firing and have arrested few people in one such firing incident: SP Morena Anurag Sujaniya on violence during by-polls in Morena, Madhya Pradesh. 

1:45 pm: Jharkhand: 46.07% and 46.96% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm in Bokaro and Dumka assembly by-poll, respectively

1:30 pm: Voter turnout of 42.71% recorded till 1 pm in Madhya Pradesh by-elections. Polling is being held for 28 seats in the state.

01:20 pm: Karnataka: 26.58% and 44.13% voter turnout recorded till 1 pm in Raja Rajeshwari Nagar and Sira assembly by-poll, respectively.

12:30 pm: People of Madhya Pradesh know that Shivraj Singh Chouhan has just lied in the last 6 months and has done nothing for the development of the state. Voters will now give a chance to Congress to work for the state: Kamal Nath, Congress on by-elections

12:00 pm: Madhya Pradesh by-polls: Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and his wife Kiran Tomar cast their vote in Gwalior. Polling is being held for 28 seats in the state.

11:00 am: Nagaland Assembly by-polls: Voting underway for the by-election to Southern Angami-I and Pungro-Kiphire assembly constituencies of the state. By-poll voter turnout recorded at 36.98 % till 10 am.

10:45 am: Karnataka Assembly by-polls: 6.90 per cent voter turnout recorded till 10am in by-poll underway for two assembly seats in Karnataka - Sira and Raja Rajeshwari Nagar.

09:05 am: Haryana Assembly by-polls: BJP candidate for by-election to the Baroda Assembly constituency, Yogeshwar Dutt casts his vote.

08:50 am: Gujarat Assembly by-polls: Kiritsinh Rana of the BJP cast his vote at a polling booth in Surendranagar.

08:40 am: Bengaluru: Congress candidate for RR Nagar by-poll, Kusuma H cast her vote at polling centre set up in JSPU College.

08:00 am: Voting for 28 Assembly seats is underway in Madhya Pradesh. Visuals from polling booth no. 258 in Gwalior.

07:30 am: Voting for bypolls on 54 Assembly seats across 10 states begins. Most of the seats - 28 - where by-polls are being held is in Madhya Pradesh.

Posted By: Shashikant Sharma