New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Former Sri Lanka opening batsman Tillakaratne Dilshan recently named his all-time ODI XI with only one Indian player making it to his playing eleven. While the Sri Lankan stalwart picked three of his team-mates in his side, Australia's two-time World Cup-winning captain Ricky Ponting was picked as the skipper.

When he was asked to pick his all-time ODI eleven, he chose quite a radical team who played during his times. Top Indian players like Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli found no place in the playing XI. The only Indian who made it to the eleven was none other than the 'God of cricket'-- Sachin Tendulkar.

Also Read| 'I have two favourite bowlers who I never wanted to face': Rohit Sharma

While Sachin Tendulkar was chosen to open the innings with former Sri Lanka skipper Sanath Jayasuriya. Brian Lar, Mahela Jayawardena, and Ricky Ponting were chosen to play at No.3, 4, and 5 respectively. South Africa's Jacques Kallis and AB de Villiers occupied the middle order positions. The latter was also chosen as the wicket-keeper. Courtney Walsh of West Indies and Wasim Akram of Pakistan were the two full-time pacers, while two highest wicket-taking spinners in Test arena-- Muttiah Muralitharan and Shane Warne.

Playing XI

Sachin Tendulkar (India), Sanath Jayasuriya (Sri Lanka), Brian Lara (West Indies), Mahela Jayawardena (Sri Lanka), Ricky Ponting (skipper) (Australia), Jacques Kallis (South Africa allrounder), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper) (South Africa), Wasim Akram (Pakistan), Courtney Walsh (West Indies), Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) and Shane Warne (Australia).

One of the most exciting batsman of his time, known for his Dill scoop, has amassed over 10,000 runs in the one-day internationals. In Test arena, he has scored over 5,000 runs in 87-matches, while in T20Is, he has 1,889 runs to his name in 80 matches.

Posted By: James Kuanal