Abu Dhabi (UAE) | Jagran Sports Desk: Jos Buttler and Steve Smith played unbeaten knocks of 70 and 26 respectively as Rajasthan Royals (RR) defeated Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by seven wickets on Monday at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. With this win, Steve Smith-led Royals has moved to the fifth position in the Indian Premier League (IPL) points table with 8 points from 10 matches while CSK is now languishing at the bottom with just six points.

Here are the highlights from the 37th IPL 2020 match between Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals:

RR win by 7 wickets

Steve Smith and Jos Buttler have helped Rajasthan Royals beat Chennai Super Kings by 7 wickets. 

Brief scores:

Chennai Super Kings: 125/5 in 20 overs (Ravindra Jadeja 35 not out, Mahendra Singh Dhoni 28; Shreyas Gopal 1/14. Rahul Tewatia 1/18, Jofra Archer 1/20)

Rajasthan Royals: 126/3 in 17.3 overs (Jos Buttler 70 not out; Deepak Chahar 2/18, Josh Hazlehood 1/19)

Smith, Buttler bring RR's chase back on track

Steve Smith and Jos Buttler have brought Rajasthan Royals' chase back on track. (92/3)

Another wicket for CSK!

RR are making it tough for themselves. They have now lost Sanju Samson for a duck. He was dismissed by Chahar. (28/3)     

Josh Hazlewood gets his wicket of season

Josh Hazlewood has got the big wicket of Robin Uthappa. Uthappa has been dismissed for 4 off 9 balls. (RR: 28/2) 

Chahar draws first blood for CSK

Deepak Chahar has got the first wicket for CSK and dismissed Ben Stokes for just 19 off 11 balls. (RR: 26/1)

Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes to begin RR's run chase

Robin Uthappa and Ben Stokes will begin the innings for RR. Deepak Chahar, on the other hand, will open the bowling for CSK.

All-round efforts from bowlers help Rajasthan restrict Chennai to 125

An all-round efforts for the bowlers have helped RR restrict CSK to just 125 in their 20 overs.

Brief scores:

Chennai Super Kings: 125/5 in 20 overs (Ravindra Jadeja 35 not out, Mahendra Singh Dhoni 28; Shreyas Gopal 1/14. Rahul Tewatia 1/18, Jofra Archer 1/20)

Dhoni out for 28

Mahendra Singh Dhoni has got himself runnout for 28. (CSK: 107/5)

CSK lose 4th wicket

CSK have lost their fourth wicket. Rayadu has been dismissed by Rahul Tewatia for 13 off 19 balls. (CSK: 56/4)

Sam Curran departs for 22

CSK's struggle at the pitch continue as Sam Curran has been dismissed by Shreyas Gopal for 22 off 25 balls. (CSK: 53/3)

Karthik Tyagi gets Shane Watson

Karthik Tyagi has got Shane Watson for 8 off 3 balls. (CSK26/2)

Faf du Plessis out for 10 off 9 balls

Jofra Archer has struck the first wicket for RR. He has dismissed Faf du Plessis for just 10 runs. (CSK: 13/1)

Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis begin CSK's innings

Sam Curran and Faf du Plessis are out on field to start CSK's innings. Meanwhile, Jofra Archer will open the bowling for RR.

Playing XI of both sides:

Rajasthan Royals: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson (w), Steven Smith (c), Jos Buttler, Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Jofra Archer, Shreyas Gopal, Ankit Rajpoot, Kartik Tyagi

Chennai Super Kings: Faf du Plessis, Sam Curran, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (w/c), Ravindra Jadeja, Kedar Jadhav, Josh Hazlewood, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Shardul Thakur

MS Dhoni wins toss, CSK to bat first

MS Dhoni has won the toss and elected to bat first. "We will bat first. It is a used wicket and chances are it may slow down as the game progresses, that's been the trend and the reason we want to put runs on the board. He (Bravo) won't be available for the next few games. I think injuries are not only our concern but for quite a few other franchises as well, one of the reason being because the players have not played competitive cricket for a long time. You spoke about it and that's how I got to know (referring to his 200th IPL game). It feels good but at the same time it's just a number. I feel fortunate to play for such a long time without many injuries. We have a couple of changes - in place of Bravo we have got Josh Hazlewood and in place of Karn we have got Chawla," says MS Dhoni.

Meanwhile, Steve Smith says, "He (Stokes) has put up okay fortunately, good to go tonight. The equation is pretty simple for us we need to keep winning, hopefully we can start tonight. We have to bowl first, restrict them and chase it down. We will see how we go (about his batting position). I found a bit of rhythm the other day which was nice and hopefully can carry on. We have got one change - Rajpoot comes in for Unadkat".


Jos Buttler, Faf du Plessis (C), Ambati Rayudu, Shane Watson, Steve Smith, Robin Uthappa, Sam Curran (VC), Rahul Tewatia, Deepak Chahar, Kartik Tyagi, Jofra Archer

Probable playing XI of both sides:

Chennai Super Kings: Sam Curran, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (C/wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi

Rajasthan Royals: Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson, Steve Smith (C), Jos Buttler (wk), Riyan Parag, Rahul Tewatia, Shreyas Gopal, Jofra Archer, Varun Aaron, Kartik Tyagi


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (C), M Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Imran Tahir, Mitchell Santner, Josh Hazlewood, Shardul Thakur, Sam Curran, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Monu Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Karn Sharma

Rajasthan Royals: Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Sanju Samson, Andrew Tye, Kartik Tyagi, Steven Smith (C), Ankit Rajpoot, Shreyas Gopal, Rahul Tewatia, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, Mahipal Lomror, Oshane Thomas, Riyan Parag, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Anuj Rawat, Akash Singh, David Miller, Manan Vohra, Shashank Singh, Varun Aaron, Tom Curran, Robin Uthappa, Aniruddha Joshi, Jofra Archer

Toss at 7 pm

The toss between the two sides will take place at 7 pm.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma