New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 8 wickets in game 39 of the Indian Premier League 2020 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium on Wednesday. With the win, Bangalore have moved to the second spot in the points table.

Opting to bat first, Kolkata got off to a disastrous start, losing its top order in the powerplay, and was restricted to just 84 for 8 — the lowest total  in the history of Indian Premier League by a side which hasn’t been bowled out in 20 overs. 

Here are the latest updates from game 39 between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Royal Challengers Bangalore beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 8 wickets 

Bangalore have moved to the second spot in the points table with this massive win. Credit goes to Mohammed Siraj, who was excellent with the new ball tonight. 

Kohli comes out to bat after Bangalore lose openers in quick succession 

Bangalore have lost their openers Devdutt Padikkal and Aaron Finch in quick succession. However, the asking rate keeps the team on top.

Royal Challengers Bangalore off to a good start in 85-run chase

Royal Challengers Bangalore have scored 37 without a loss of wicket in the first five over of the innings.

Aaron Finch, Devdutt Padikkal begin Bangalore's 85-run chase

Aaron Finch and devdutt Padikkal have begun Royal Challengers Bangalore's 85-run chase. Pat Cummins is with the new ball. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowlers restrict Kolkata to 84/8

Royal Challengers Bangalore need just 85 to win this contest. The first six overs will be key for Kolkata while looking to defend this total.

Siraj breathes fire as Kolkata Knight Riders lose top-order in powerplay

Kolkata Knight Riders have lost four wickets inside the first four overs of the innings. Exceptional bowling on display by Mohammed Siraj, with three wickets for just 2 runs. 

Mohammed Siraj dimisses KKR's Tripathi, Rana in consecutive deliveries 

A double-wicket maiden from Mohammed Siraj has put Royal Challengers Bangalore on top after losing the toss. 

Kolkata Knight Riders lose Rahul Tripathi early after opting to bat first

Mohammed Siraj has dimissed Rahul Tripathi for just 1 in the second over of the innings. Kolkata Knight Riders are down inside two overs after opting to bat first. 

Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi begin Kolkata Knight Riders' innings

Shubman Gill and Rahul Tripathi have begun Kolkata Knight Riders' innings. Chris Morris is with the new ball. 

Kolkata Knight Riders opt to bat 

Kolkata Knight Riders have won the toss and opted to bat against Royal Challengers Bangalore. the match will begin at 7:30 pm (IST).

Toss at 7 pm

The toss between the two teams will be held at 7 pm (IST).


Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (captain and wicket-keeper), Eoin Morgan, Shubman Gill, Tom Banton, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana, Rahul Tripathi, Kuldeep Yadav, Pat Cummins, Prasidh Krishna, Lockie Ferguson, Rinku Singh, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Nikhil Naik, Chris Green, M Siddharth, Sandeep Warrier, Varun Chakravarthy and Siddhesh Lad 

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Aaron Finch, Josh Philippe, Chris Morris, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmed, Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Dale Steyn, Pawan Negi, Isuru Udana, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Washington Sundar, Pavan Deshpande, Adam Zampa

Posted By: Lakshay Raja