New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: KL Rahul-led Kings XI Punjab beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight wickets in game 31 of the Indian Premier League 2020 at Sharjah Cricket Stadium on Thursday. This is Punjab's second win in eight matches in the IPL.

Chasing 172, Punjab got off to an excellent start, with openers KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal bringing up 50-run stand inside powerplay. The run-chase briefly went off the track in the middle over, but a flurry of sixes by Chris Gayle and Rahul put the pressure back on Bangalore. Punjab needed two runs off the last over, but could only manage to get it off the last delivery.  

Here are the latest updates from game 31 between Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore:

Kings XI Punjab beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 wickets in last-ball thriller

Kings XI Punjab beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight wickets. Punjab needed just two runs off the last over, but could only manage to get off the last ball. 

KL Rahul’s half-century keeps Kings XI Punjab in control of run chase

KL Rahul has brought up his half-century in 37 balls. Kings XI Punjab look in control of the run chase at the moment. 

Chris Gayle joins KL Rahul after Agarwal falls short of half-century

Chris Gayle has come to bat in the competitive cricket for the first time since January. This is his maiden IPL 2020 match. 

Kings XI Punjab off to a good start in 172-run chase

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul have brought up fifty run stand in the penultimate delivery of the powerplay. Good start for Punjab in 172-run chase.

KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal begin Punjab's 172-run chase

KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal have begun Punjab's 172-run chase. Chris Morris is with the new ball. 

Flurry of sixes by Morris in final overs power Royal Challengers Bangalore to 171

Three sixes in the final overs has powered Royal Challengers Bangalore to 171.

Mohammed Shami gets Virat Kohli, de Villiers in same overs to put RCB on back foot

Mohammed Shami has dismissed Virat Kohli and de Villiers in the 18th over of the match. RCB will be eying at most 160 from here.

Kohli, Dube rebuild as Royal Challengers Bangalore eye 175

With Kohli approaching his half-century, Royal Challengers Bangalore will be eying at least 175 from here. 

Virat Kohli takes charge after Royal Challengers Bangalore lose openers, Sundar

Royal Challengers Bangalore have lost three wickets for 86 in the first ten overs. Virat Kohli is batting at 28.

Kohli joins Finch after Padikkal departs inside powerplay 

Virat Kohli has come to bat in his 200th match for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Padikall was dismissed by Arshdeep Singh for 18 in the fifth over of the match. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore off to a solid start after opting to bat first against Kings XI Punjab

Solid start for Royal Challengers Bangalore inside powerplay after opting to bat first. The team has put up 38 on scoreboard in the first four overs without a loss of wicket. 

Aaron Finch, Devdutt Padikkal begin Royal Challengers Bangalore's innings

Royal Challengers Bangalore opener Aaron Finch is off the mark with a single. Maxwell is with the new ball. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore opt to bat first

Royals Challenegrs Bangalore have won the toss and opted to bat first against Kings XI Punjab. The match will begin at 7:30 pm (IST).

Toss at 7 pm:

The toss between the two teams will be held at 7 pm (IST)


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel (wk), Aaron Finch, Josh Philippe, Chris Morris, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmed, Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Dale Steyn, Pawan Negi, Isuru Udana, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Washington Sundar, Pavan Deshpande, Adam Zampa

Kings XI Punjab: Lokesh Rahul, Harpreet Brar, Ishan Porel, Mandeep Singh, James Neesham, Tajinder Singh, Chris Jordan, Karun Nair, Deepak Hooda, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Glenn Maxwell, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sarfaraz Khan, Sheldon Cottrell, Mayank Agarwal, Mohammed Shami, Darshan Nalkande, Nicholas Pooran, Chris Gayle, Murugan Ashwin, Jagadeesha Suchith, Krishnappa Gowtham, Hardus Viljoen, Simran Singh


Posted By: Lakshay Raja