Abu Dhabi (UAE) | Jagran Sports Desk: Delhi Capitals today defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 wickets and qualified for the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 play-offs at number two position. Thanks to Ajinkya Rahane who announced his return and smashed a brilliant 60 off 46 balls, helping DC beat RCB in 55th game of the tournament at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

Here are the highlights from Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi:

Delhi Capitals win by 6 wickets

Thanks to a calm and composed 50 from Ajinkya Rahane, Delhi Capitals have defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 wickets to qualify for the tournament.

Brief scores:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 152/7 in 20 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 50; Anrich Nortje 3/33)

Delhi Capitals: 154/4 in 19 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 54, Ajinkya Rahane 60; Shahbaz Ahmed 2/26)

Rahane out for 60

Ajinkya Rahane's handy half-century has come to an end. Delhi Capitals have lost their fourth wicket. (DC: 136/4)

Shahbaz gets his 2nd wicket, Iyer dismissed for 7

Delhi Capitals have lost their third wicket. Royal Challengers Bangalore are slowly making a return in the game. (DC: 130/3) 

Now Rahane brings up his 50

Ajinkya Rahane has announced his return to form and scored a stylish 50. (DC:121/2)

Dhawan out for 54!

Royal Challengers Bangalore have finally got the break. Shikhar Dhawan has been dismissed for 54 by Shahbaz Ahmed. (DC: 107/2)

Dhawan hits 50

Shikhar Dhawan has scored his fifty of just 37 balls. (DC: 92/1)

Dhawan, Rahane put DC in driving seat

Dhawan and Rahane have put Delhi Capitals in a commanding position. The Royal Challengers Bangalore need quick wickets to get back in the game. (RCB: 87/1)

Siraj gets Shaw in his first over

Mohammed Siraj has struck and got the wicket of the out-of-form Prithvi Shaw. (DC: 19/1)

Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan to open the innings for DC

Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan will open the innings for Delhi Capitals. Meanwhile, Chris Morris will open the bowling for Royal Challengers Bangalore. 

RCB set 153-run target for DC

A handy performance from the bowlers have helped Delhi Capitals restrict Royal Challengers Bangalore to just 152.

Brief scores:

Royal Challengers Bangalore: 152/7 in 20 overs (Devdutt Padikkal 50; Anrich Nortje 3/33)

Nortje gets Morris

Nortje has got his second wicket and dismissed Chris Morris. (112/4)

Nortje gets Padikkal

Devdutt Padikkal after scoring a handy 50 has been dismissed by Nortje. (RCB: 112/3)

Devdutt Padikkal hits 50

Devdutt Padikkal has scored his 50 in 40 balls. (RCB: 103/2) 

Ashwin strikes, gets the big wicket of King Kohli!

Ashwin has got the big wicket of Virat Kohli. Kohli, who was looking good, has been dismissed for 29. (RCB: 82/2)

Kohli, Paddikal steady RCB's innings

After an early loss, Virat Kohli and Devdutt Paddikal have steadied the innings for Royal Challengers Bangalore. (RCB: 60/1)

Rabada gets the first breakthrough, Philippe out for 12

Kagiso Rabada has got his first wicket of his season in powerplays. He has dismissed Josh Philippe for 12. (RCB: 25/1) 

Josh Philippe, Devdutt Padikkal begin RCB's innings

Josh Philippe and Devdutt Padikkal are out on field to begin the innings for Royal Challengers Bangalore. Meanwhile, Daniel Sams will open the bowling for Delhi Capitals.

Playing XI of both sides:

RCB: Josh Philippe, Devdutt Padikkal, Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers(w), Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Shahbaz Ahmed, Chris Morris, Isuru Udana, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

DC: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Marcus Stoinis, Daniel Sams, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje

DC win toss, opt to bowl first

Delhi Capitals have won the toss and elected to bowl first in Abu Dhabi. "We will bowl first. Dew is going to play a massive role. Looking at the previous games the surface looks a belter. We have three changes - Rahane, Axar and Sams come in. It's a complicated situation to be and it happens in the IPL," says Shreyas Iyer.

Meanwhile, Virat Kohli says, "We have a couple of changes. Gurkeerat Mann misses out, Dube comes in to provide some fire power in the middle. Shahbaz Ahmed comes in for Saini who is not fully fit. It is good to be batting first but we would have bowled had we won the toss. We have been in this situation before and the three finals we have reached we have gone through like this".


Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer (c), Kagiso Rabada, Marcus Stoinis, Sandeep Lamichhane, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Shimron Hetmyer, Alex Carey, Mohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Lalit Yadav, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Tushar Deshpande, Rishabh Pant, Harshal Patel, Keemo Paul, Amit Mishra, Anrich Nortje, Daniel Sams

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (c), AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel (wk), Aaron Finch, Josh Philippe, Chris Morris, Moeen Ali, Mohammed Siraj, Shahbaz Ahmed, Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Navdeep Saini, Dale Steyn, Pawan Negi, Isuru Udana, Shivam Dube, Umesh Yadav, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Washington Sundar, Pavan Deshpande, Adam Zampa

Toss to take place at 7 pm

The toss between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals (DC) will take place at 7 pm.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma