New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Shreyas Iyer-led Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 17 runs in the Qualifier 2 of the Indian Premier League 2020 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium on Sunday. With this win, DC have sealed a spot in the playoffs, where they will be facing defending champions Mumbai Indians.

This is the second year in a row that the Orange Army has been knocked out by Delhi Capitals in the qualifiers of the tournament. Chasing a target of 190, Hyderabad got off to a poor start, losing its opener David Warner for just 2 in the second over of the match. Manish Pandey and Priyam Garg briefly steadied the innings but fell in quick succession for 21 and 17 respectively in the fifth over of the match. Williamson held the fort after top order collapsed, but the asking rate remained a worry for Hyderabad. The two ran the team close to the total but could not sail through and were dismissed in the final overs.

Here are the latest updates from the Qualifier 2 between SRH and DC: 

DC beat SRH by 17 runs

Delhi Capitals beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 17 runs to qualify for the finals of the Indian Premier League 2020 against Mumbai indians.

Williamson, Samad keep Sunrisers Hyderabad's run-chase alive

Kane Williamson and Abdul Samad have resurrected Sunrisers Hyderabad's run chase after the top-order's collapse in the first ten overs. 

Kane Williamson key for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the run-chase

Kane Willaimson did by Hyderabad in the eliminator against Royal Challengers Bangalore and tonight he is the key for the team's run-chase again. 

Trouble for Sunrisers Hyderabad as Garg, Pandey depart in quick succession

Stoinis has cleaned up Priyam Garg and Manish Pandey in the same over. Sunrisers Hyderabad are three down without even 50 on the scoreboard.

Sunrisers Hyderabad lose David Warner early in chase of 190

Perfect start for Delhi Capitals as David Warner has departed for just 2. Hyderabad are one down in chase of 190.

David Warner, Priyam Garg begin Hyderabad's run-chase

Priyam Garg has come out to bat with David Warner in the chase of 190. 

Dhawan, Hetmyer guide Delhi Capitals to 189 against Sunrisers Hyderabad

No boundaries in the last two overs restricted Delhi Capitals to just 189 for three at the end of 20 overs. Sunrisers Hyderabad need 190 to win this contest and qualify for the finals. 

Dhawan marches on as Delhi eye 200

With Shimron Hetmyer now well-set and Dhawan in a remarkable touch, Delhi Capitals will be eying at least 200 from here. 

Shikhar Dhawan brings up 41st IPL fifty with a six 

Shikhar Dhawan has brought up his 41st IPL fifty with a six, just an over after the dismissal of his opening part Marcus Stoinis. 

 Dhawan, Stoinis give Delhi Capitals a flying start

Shikhar Dhawan is approaching his half century. A respite for Delhi Capitals after Dhawan's three ducks in the past four matches. Sunrisers Hyderabad remain wicketless after eight overs.

Delhi Capitals off to a solid start after opting to bat first 

Finally a good start for Delhi Capitals in the powerplay. And it has come at a crucial moment in the tournament. 40 up for the team in the fifth over without a loss of wicket.

Shikhar Dhawan, Marcus Stoinis begin Delhi Capitals' innings

Marcus Stoinis has come out to bat in place of Prithvi Shaw for Delhi Capitals. Shikhar Dhawan is at the other end. 

DC opt to bat first

Delhi Capitals have won the toss and opted to bat first against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Qualifer 2. 

Toss at 7 pm

The toss between the two teams will be held at 7 pm (IST)


Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer (captain), Kagiso Rabada, Marcus Stoinis, Sandeep Lamichhane, Ishant Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Shimron Hetmyer, Alex Carey, Mohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, Lalit Yadav, Avesh Khan, Axar Patel, Tushar Deshpande, Rishabh Pant, Harshal Patel, Keemo Paul, Amit Mishra, Anrich Nortje, Daniel Sams

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Jonny Bairstow, Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Shreevats Goswami, Virat Singh, Priyam Garg, Wriddhiman Saha, Abdul Samad, Vijay Shankar, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Abhishek Sharma, B Sandeep, Sanjay Yadav, Fabian Allen, Prithvi Raj Yarra, Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddharth Kaul, Billy Stanlake, T Natarajan, Basil Thampi


Posted By: Lakshay Raja