New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Mumbai Indians clinched their fifth Indian Premier League title after defeating Delhi Capitals by five wickets on the back of a 68-run knock by skipper Rohit Sharma at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Tuesday.

Chasing a modest target of 157, Mumbai got off to a steady start, with openers Quinton de Kock and Sharma falling just short of the 50-run stand in the first five overs. The skipper marched on after de Kock's dismissal and built a brief partnership with Suryakumar Yadav. Sharma broke the jink of not scoring runs in the qualifiers by playing a 68-run knock off 51 balls, and together with Ishan Kishan, steered the team to their fifth IPL title.  Incidentally, this was Sharma's 200th IPL match, and 155th for Mumbai Indians. 

Earlier, opting to bat first, Delhi got off to a poor start, losing its opener Marcus Stoinis for a golden duck off a Trent Boult delivery in the first over. The top order collapsed in the first four over -- a repeat of the qualifier 1 last week. Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant steadied the innings after powerplay, building a 96-run stand that was put to end by Coulter-Nile in the 15th over. Jasprit Bumrah remained wicket-less but bowled an economical spell that restricted Delhi to 157.

With the win, Mumbai Indians have become the second team afier Chennai Super Kings to retain their IPL title. “We wanted to break the jinx of winning every two years. Very happy as a team. It means a great deal, the pandemic has been such a shock, we are just grateful to come back and play cricket, something we love,” Bumrah said after the match. 

“The amount of trophies, the amount of talent that’s there, you can say Mumbai Indians is the best T20 team going around,” Kieron Pollard said after the match. “The management, the support staff, the effort they put in to make. Dwayne Bravo, you are behind me now (referring to the number of T20 titles). I have to say that on camera.”

With 670 runs in 14 matches at an average of 55.83, Kings XI Punjab's KL Rahul won the Orange Cap this season, while the Purple Cap was clinched by Delhi Capitals' Kagiso Rabada, who took 30 wickets in 17 matches at an average of 18.26. 

Posted By: Lakshay Raja