New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Excellent bowling in the last seven overs helped Kolkata Knight Riders beat Chennai Super Kings by 10 runs in game 21 of the Indian Premier League 2020 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi on Wednesday. Chasing a modest target of 168, Chennai got off to a decent start, but lost its way in the middle overs and were eventually reduced to 157 at the end of 20 overs. 

Chennai looked in firm control of the run chase up until the 13th over but the two successive wickets of well settled Ambati Rayudu and Shane Watson put the pressure back on the team. 

Here are the latest updates from game 21 between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders:

Kolkata Knight Riders beat Chennai Super Kings by 10 runs

Kolkata Knight Riders have beaten Chennai Super Kings by 10 runs in game 21 of the Indian Premier League 2020.

Narine gets Watson; Chennai three down in 168-run chase

Sunil Narine has dismissed well-set Watson for 50 in the 14th over of the match. Chennai Super Kings are 3 down. Dhoni, Sam Curran are in the middle. 

Watson’s fifty keeps Chennai in control of run chase

Fifty up for Shane Watson. Chennai Super Kings are in firm control of the run chase at the end of 13th over, despite losing Rayudu for 30.

Watson, Rayudu keep Chennai's 168-run chase on track after early dismissal

Chennai Super Kings are 78 at a loss of one wicket after nine overs. Shane Watson and Ambati Rayudu are well set at the moment.

Shivam Mavi gets du Plessis inside powerplay, Chennai one down in 168-run chase

Faf du Plessis has been dismissed by Shivam Mavi for 17 in the fourth over of the match. Ambati Rayudu has come to bat.

Shane Watson, Faf du Plessis begin Chennai's 168-run chase

Shane Watson and Faf fu Plessis have begun Chennai Super Kings's 168-run chase against Kolkata Knight Riders. 

Rahul Tripathi's 81 guide Kolkata Knight Riders to 167 against Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings need to 168 runs win this contest against Kolkata Knight Riders. 

Tripathi matches on as wickets tumble on other end

Tripathi is playing on 67, while the tickets continue to tumble on the other end. Kolkata Knight Riders are 120 up in the 15th over.

Ravindra Jadeja dives full length to dismiss Sunil Narine

Jadeja has taken a stunner here! Sunil Narine is out for 17. 

Tripathi, Narine anchor Kolkata's innings against Chennai Super Kings

A flurry of boundaries by Sunil Narinehas relieved pressure put up on Kolkata Knight Riders with Nitish Rana's dismissal. 

Tripathi brings up half-century with a four

Fifty up for Rahul Tripathi. Kolkata Knight Riders have recovered from the two early dismissals.

Thakur provides first breakthrough, Shubman Gill departs for 11

Shardul Thakur has dimissed Shubman Gill off the second ball of his spell for 11. Kolkata Knight Riders are one down.

Kolkata Knight Riders off to a solid start against Chennai Super Kings

Rahul Tripathi and Shubman Gill are batting at 23 and 11 in the fourth over of the match. Solid start for Kolkata Knight Riders.

Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill begin Kolkata's innings

Rahul Tripathi and Shubman Gill have begun Kolkata's innings. Deepak Chahar is with the new bowl.

Playing XI:

Chennai Super Kings: Shane Watson, Far du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(wk,c), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Karn Sharma, Sam Curran, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar

Kolkata Knight Riders: Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik(wk,c), Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins, Rahul Tripathi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shivam Mavi, Varun Chakravarthy

Kolkata Knight Riders opt to bat

Kolkata Knight Riders have won the toss and opted to bat against Chennai Super Kings

Toss at 7 pm 

The toss between the two teams will be held at 7 pm (IST).


Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (captain, wk), M Vijay, Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Lungi Ngidi, Deepak Chahar, Piyush Chawla, Imran Tahir, Mitchell Santner, Josh Hazlewood, Shardul Thakur, Sam Curran, N Jagadeesan, KM Asif, Monu Kumar, R Sai Kishore, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Karn Sharma

Kolkata Knight Riders: Dinesh Karthik (Captain & Wicket-keeper), Andre Russell, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Siddhesh Lad, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Eoin Morgan, Varun Chakravarthy, Tom Banton (Wicketkeeper), Rahul Tripathi, Chris Green, M Siddharth, Nikhil Naik (Wicketkeeper), Ali Khan

Posted By: Lakshay Raja