New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday announced 15-member Indian team squad for the Test series against South Africa.

Shubham Gill has been included in the Test squad while KL Rahul is dropped after he failed to impress with his performance in the recently concluded test series against West Indies. He managed to score just 101 runs in last four innings without a half-century. On the other hand, Gill earned his maiden call in Test squad after performing well for India A against South Africa A.

Youngsters Mayank Agarwal and Hanuma Vihari retained their place in the squad. The latter emerged as the highest run-getter with 289 runs in two-match series against WI. 

Pacer Umesh Yadav failed to make it to the 15-member squad.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma has been retained in the lineup. He is expected to open with Mayank Agarwal in the upcoming test series against Proteas in the home series.

Also Read: Virat Kohli’s tweet triggers speculation on MS Dhoni's retirement

Chief Selector MSK Prasad has said that the selection committee wants to give Rohit Sharma an opportunity to open the innings in Tests. 

India is scheduled to play three each test match and T20Is starting from February 15. The first test match will kick off at Visakhapatnam on October 2.

India’s squad for 3 Tests: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill.

Posted By: James Kuanal