New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk:  India beat New Zealand by five wickets in the first T20 International to go 1-0 up in the three-match series on Wednesday.

Chasing a target of 165, Suryakumar Yadav (62 off 40 balls) and skipper Rohit Sharma (48 off 36 balls) scored the bulk of the runs as India reached the target in 19.4 overs.

Earlier, New Zealand scored a competitive 164 for 6, riding on half-centuries from Martin Guptill (70 off 42 balls) and Mark Chapman (63 off 50 balls).

Here are the highlights from the 1st T20I between India and New Zealand:

22:45 hrs: Rishabh Pant sticks till the end to help India beat New Zealand by 5 wickets. India took the lead of 1-0 in the 3 series match.

22:30hrs: Suryakumar falls for 63, Shreyas Iyer comes on crease.

22:15 hrs: Suryakumar hits 50, as India headed towards big win.

22:00hrs: Trent Boult dismisses Rohit Sharma at 48 after 13.2 overs.

21:30 hrs: Rishabh Pant, Rohit Sharma cruise India in chase of 165.

21:15 hrs: Santner removes KL Rahul as India raced to 65 after 6.5 overs

21:00hrs: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul opens for India in the chase of 165.

20:45hrs: India restricts New Zealand to 164-6  in the allotted overs

20:30 hrs: Bhuneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar strikes to pick two wickets, New Zealand aims strong finish as they raced to 154 after 18 overs

20:15hrs: Its two for Ashwin as he removed Phillips, Chapman in single over

20:00hrs: Ashwin removes Guptill for 63 in the 13th over.

19:35 hrs: After 10 overs New Zealand jetted off to 65 at the loss of 1 wicket.

19:25hrs: After 6 overs New Zealand have raced to 41 runs for 1 wicket.

19:10hrs: Bhuvneshwar Kumar gives India first breakthrough removes Mitchell for 1 in early overs

19:00 hrs: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell opens for New Zealand.

18:45hrs: Here take a look at the playing XI of both sides:

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert(w), Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee(c), Todd Astle, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

India: Rohit Sharma(c), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Siraj

18:40hrs: Tim Southee - We'd have bowled as well, keeping dew factor in mind. Pretty disappointed at not winning the World Cup, but this is a great place to play cricket and the team is looking forward to it. Another chance to give chances - 4 changes for us - Neesham, KW, Sodhi and Milne miss out; Mark Chapman, Todd Astle, Rachin Ravindra and Lockie Feruson are in.

Rohit Sharma - We will bowl first. The wicket looks good, thought behind is to have a score behind us, there was quite a lot of dew while practicing from a couple of days. It's been good, has been only 2 days, been a quick turnaround, back from Dubai, spent a couple of days at home and back here. But it'll be good for the team. We have Shreyas Iyer back, Venkatesh is debuting, Bhuvi, Siraj and Chahar are back. We're playing three seamers and two spinners. We have one eye on the next World Cup, it's a lot of time ahead, we'll try our options, some results might not be immediate, but the process will be crucial.

18:30hrs: India win toss, opt to bowl first

18:20hrs: Also read: IND vs NZ: Check dream XI predictions, probable playing 11 of India and New Zealand

18:10hrs:  The toss will happen at 6:30 pm 

18:00hrs: Rohit Sharma's India will clash with Tim Southee's New Zealand in the first T20I of the 3-match series at Jaipur.

Posted By: Ashita Singh