Ranchi | Jagran Sports Desk: India beat New Zealand by 7 wickets to go 2-0 in 3-match series. The win in Ranchi T20-International came with accolades for debutant Harshal Patel who took 2 wickets in his first T20I match and Opening pair of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul, both of whom scored half centuries and amassed 1,000 runs as an opening pair for India.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma on Friday won the toss against Tim Southee's New Zealand in second T20I which is being played at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi. After winning the toss, Rohit said that India would bowl again due to the dew factor, adding that Harshal Patel would make his debut in the game.

The hosts now have 2-0 unassailable lead in the series after winning two T20I against the Kiwis.

Here are the highlights from the second T20I between India and New Zealand at the JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi:

22:44 hours: Tim Southee dismissed Rohit and Suryakumar Yadav in the same over. The hosts now stand 17 away from victory in 24 balls.

22:38 hours: Captain Rohit Sharma hits half-century. India now need 20 off 30 to win the match and hence the series.

22:10 hours: KL Rahul hits half century. India 85/0 in 10.2 overs while chasing New Zealand's 154 in Ranchi

22:08 hours: Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul put together their fifth consecutive half-century stand in T20Is and 13th fifty-plus stand overall,while amassing 1,000 runs as an opening pair which is the seventh-most in T20Is and second-highest for India after the pair of Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit.

21:35 hours: KL Rahul-Rohit Sharma lead India to a great start with bat. At 5.3 overs, Ind: 42-0; KL Rahul 31 (24 deliveries), Rohit Sharma 9 runs (9 deliveries).

21: 08 hours: Harshal Patel on taking 2 wickets at his debut: “It's a great feeling playing for the country. I love the game and the ultimate goal for any player is to play for the country, it's an honour, it's a privilege and I'm not going to take it for granted. Rahul (Dravid) sir has always told me that once you are done with the preparations, you gotta go out there and enjoy the game. After 9-10 years of domestic cricket and on the back of a good IPL I've reached here, so it's a satisfying moment for me.”

20: 57 hours: After scoring 64 runs in the powerplay and New Zealand Indian spinners pulled things back brilliantly. Harshal Patel picked two wickets on his debut to restrict New Zealand to 153 for six losses in total.

20:47 hours: New Zealand six wickets down after Neesham becomes Bhuvneshwar's first success

20:33 hours: Harshal Patel takes his second wicket to give New Zealand its fifth loss. 

20:28 hours:  New Zealand lose fourth wicket. 

20:25 hours: India owns middle overs by conceding just 61 runs between 7th to 15th overs. 

20:14 hours: New Zealand's score goes past 100 with three losses. At 13.2 overs, NZ: 109-3 

20:06 hours: New Zealand lose third wicket at 90 runs. Harshal Patel takes his career's first-ever T20I wicket as Glenn Philips with a long-on catch by Suryakumar Yadav. New Zealand scores 90 with 3 losses. 

19:48 hours: New Zealand loses second wicket at 80 runs as Axar Patel gets MS Chapmann. Axar has now earned his first T20I wicket since 2017. NZ: 84-2 after 10 overs. 

19:40 hours: New Zealand goes past 70 runs after losing one wicket. Chapman 15 runs (11 deliveries); Mitchell 26 runs (21 deliveries). After 8 overs, NZ: 73-1

19:25 hours: New Zealand scores past fifty after losing one wicket. Deepak Chahar claims Martin Guptill's wicket. Guptill goes past Virat Kohli's record for most T20I runs. Guptill achieved the feat in his 111th T20I, going past Kohli's 3,227 runs in the shortest format of the game. NZ: 56-1 after 5 overs.

19:00 hours: Match begins! Martin Guptill and Daryl Mitchell have started the innings for New Zealand. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, meanwhile, bowled the first over for India.

18:55 hours: Felt good (bowling well in the first T20I). Always feels good to take wickets. Good to be in rhythm. I have been bowling a lot lately. When I went back for two days I bowled there as well because I didn't want to lose the rhythm. I didn't play for a while, played only one match in the World Cup. So I wanted to ensure I kept bowling, says Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

18:53 hours: We got to knockout stage in the T20 World Cup, so that was good. The other night we were just a little short of where we wanted to be with the bat. It's all about contributing to the team and doing whatever I can to get us to win. I contributed a bit with the bat in the T20 World Cup and took it very deep against Scotland. I just want to go out tonight and do the same things that I have been doing. There is no guarantee in T20 cricket, says Martin Guptill.

18:50 hours: Here's a look at the playing XI of both sides:

India: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma c), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (w), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar and Harshal Patel.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert (w), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (c), Adam Milne and Trent Boult.

18:38 hours: We would have bowled first, taking the dew into consideration. It's always about trying to improve. We have to focus on the positives. We'll have to deal with the dew, and find a way to put up a good performance. We have three changes, says Tim Southee.

18:34 hours: We are going to field first. We have seen it here, it's a nice option to go with. Considering the dew factor, it's good to chase in Ranchi. It was a good effort from the boys. It was a good learning for them as they finished the game, it was a good positive to have from that game. The game is such that you need some energy and experience. We have youngsters who want to express themselves, it's a good setup, it's important moving forward. We have one change, Harshal comes in for Siraj, says Rohit Sharma.

18:30 hours: Just In: India have won the toss and have opted to field.

18:25 hours: Probable playing XI of both sides:

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar or Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar and Mohammad Siraj or Avesh Khan.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Todd Astle or Ish Sodhi, Lockie Ferguson or Adam Milne and Trent Boult.

18:20 hours: Here's a look at the full squad of both teams: 

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Ishan Kishan, Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel and Mohammad Siraj.

New Zealand: Tim Southee (captain), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert and Ish Sodhi.

18:15 hours: Also Read - India vs New Zealand 2nd T20I: Pitch report, weather forecast, dream11 and probable playing XI of both sides

18:10 hours: Match will begin at 7 pm.

18:05 hours: Toss will take place at 6.30 pm.

18:00 hours: The second match between the Men in Blue and the Black Caps will begin at 7 am.

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma