Auckland (New Zealand) | Jagran Sports Desk: Ravindra Jadeja and Shreyas Iyer on Saturday played wonderful knocks but it went in vain as the Kiwis defeated the Men in Blue by 22 runs to clinch the three-match series 2-0. 

After winning the toss, Indian skipper Virat Kohli asked the hosts to bat first. The Kiwis, thanks to a brilliant innings from Ross Taylor, scored 273 for 8 in their 50 overs. Taylor was well supported by Martin Guptill and the duo helped New Zealand survive a mid-innings collapse to post a competitive 273.

Defending the total, the Kiwi bowlers were right on the money as they dismissed India for 251 in 48.3 overs to hand the visitors their second successive defeat. India had lost the first match by four wickets.    

Chasing 274 for a win, Ravindra Jadeja top-scored with a 73-ball 55 while Shreyas Iyer made 52 from 57 balls. Hamish Bennett (2/58) and Tim Southee (2/41), Kyle Jamieson (2/42) and Colin de Grandhomme (2/54) took two wicket each.

Earlier, in-form Taylor produced a rearguard act with an unbeaten 73 off 74 balls -- his 51st half-century -- and put on 76 off 51 balls for the ninth wicket with Jamieson (25 not out) to lift the hosts from 197-8 to a competitive score.

Opener Guptill scored a run-a-ball 79 and alongwith his opening partner Herny Nicholls (41) shared a 93-run partnership to give the hosts a good start but they lost five wickets for 26 runs to look down the barrel at one stage.

Yuzvendra Chahal (3/58) claimed three wickets, Shardul Thakur (2/60) took two wickets, while Ravindra Jadeja (1/35) snapped one and effected a run-out to put the hosts in a spot of bother in the middle but Taylor's brilliance saw them post a good score.

Earlier, India made two changes, bringing in Navdeep Saini and Yuzvendra Chahal in place of Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav.

New Zealand, on the other hand, handed ODI debut to Jamieson, the country's tallest bowler standing at six feet, eight inches. He replaced spinner Ish Sodhi, while Mark Chapman came in for Mitchell Santner in the playing XI.

The two sides will now face each other at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui on February 11.

(With PTI inputs)

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma