New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: Bangladesh on Sunday defeated India to win their maiden U-19 World Cup at the Senwes Park, Potchefstroom (South Africa). In the match, Bangladesh skipper Akbar Ali won the toss and elected to bowl against India in the summit clash. 

Batting first, India were bowled out for 177 runs in 47.2 scores as half of their batsmen in the playing XI failed to reach double digits. Last match centurion Yashasvi Jaiswal top-scored with 88 runs that comprised 8 fours and a six. Tilak Verma and Dhruv Juvel contributed 38 and 22 runs respectively. For Bangladesh, Avishek Das scalped three wickets while Tanzim Hasan and Shoriful Islam picked two wickets each.

In reply, Bangladesh began the chase on a high note. Pervez Hossain Emon and Tanzid Hasan shared a 50-run opening stand. Ravi Bishnoi helped India get back in the game after scalping four wickets in just a few overs. First, he dismissed Tanzid for 17 runs and then dismissed Mahmudul for just eight runs. Towhid Hridoy (0) and Shahadat Hossain(1) were the last batsmen to get outoff his bowling. A little later, Shahmim departed for 7 runs off Sushant Mishra. Mishra got his second wicket soon and dismissed Avishek Das for 5. However, Bangladesh easily achieved the target and won their maiden U-19 World Cup. 

India reached the finals by defeating Pakistan in a one-sided clash by 10 wickets, while Bangladesh had stormed into the finals by beating New Zealand by 6 wickets.

The two teams are playing against each other in the ongoing tournament for the first time. 

India have won the Under-19 World Cup four times, i.e., in 2000, 2008, 2012 and 2018 under the captaincies of Mohd. Kaif, Virat Kohli, Unmukt Chand and Prithvi Shaw respectively.


India: Priyam Garg (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Divyaansh Saxena, Tilak Varma, Dhruv Jurel, Siddhesh Veer, Atharva Ankolekar, Ravi Bishnoi, Sushant Mishra, Kartik Tyagi and Akash Singh.

Bangladesh: Akbar Ali (C), Parvez Hossain Emon, Tanzid Hasan, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Towhid Hridoy, Shahadat Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Avishek Das, Rakibul Hasan, Shoriful Islam, and Tanzim Hasan Sakib. 

Posted By: James Kuanal