New Delhi | Jagran Sports Desk: India beat Australia by 13 runs in the third One Day International in Canberra on Wednesday. With the win, the Virat Kohli's men have avoided the consecutive series whitewash in the ODIs.

Chasing a total of 303, Australia got off to a poor start, losing Marnus Lebuschagne in the sixth over of the match. Steven Smith, who smashed consecutive tons earlier in the series, was dismissed cheaply in the 12th over. Aaron Finch held the fort in the middle overs, but could not sail the team through the total. Following his dismissal, the in-form Glenn Maxwell fought a lone battle but was cleaned up Jasprit Bumrah at a crucial moment of the match. 

Here are the latest updates from the 3rd ODI:

India beat Australia by 13 runs; hosts take series 2-1

India has avoided another series whitewash with a 13 run win over Australia in the third ODI. Hosts have won the series 2-1

Bumrah gets Maxwell as India aims to avoid series whitewash

India has made a comeback to this game with the dismissal of Glenn Maxwell. Jasprit Bumrah has provided the crucial breakthrough and he is still left with his one over. 

Glenn Maxwell key for Australia in chase of 303

Australia need 76 runs in the final 10 overs, with in-form Glenn Maxwell still at the crese. The team has managed to keep the asking rate below 8 despite losing six wickets. 

Australia stumbles in run-chase with Finch, Green's dismissals 

Tough for Australia to make a comeback with half the side back in pavillion and the asking rate topping 7.5, with 13 overs still to go. Maxwell is the key for Australia after Finch, Green's dismissals 

Thakur gets Henriques as Australia lose third wicket in chase of 303

This is turning out to be a great game for Shardul Thakur. Mild trouble for Australia with the departure of Henriques, but they still have Finch around to take the things closer. 

Finch marches on after Thakur gets Smith early 

Aaron Finch is key for Australia after the early dismissals of Steven Smith and Marcus Labuschagne. Australia are two down for 66 after 13 overs.

Debutant T Natarajan gets first wicket for India; Smith joins Finch in chase of 303

T Natarajan has cleaned up Labuschagne to seal his maiden wicket for India in the international cricket. Australia are one down in chase of 303.

Aaron Finch, Marnus Labuschagne begin Australia's 303-run chase

Aaron Finch and Marnus Labuschagne have begun Australia's 303-run-chase. Jasprit Bumrah is with the new ball. 

Pandya's late blitz propel India to 302

An above average total given how the pitch has behaved so far. Pandya and Jadeja have put up the third highest sixth wicket partnership for India in ODIs.

Pandya, Jadeja accelerate innings as India eye 300

Excellent batting by Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja in the final overs. India will be eying at least 40 runs in the final three overs to reach 300.

Trouble for India as Hazlewood gets Kohli again

Josh Hazlewood has dismissed Kohli for the fourth consecutive time. Hard for India to put up a decent total from here. The game is slipping. 

Virat Kohli brings up half-century as wickets tumble at other end

Fifty up for Virat Kohli in 64 balls. The skipper is key for India after the collapse of the top order. The asking rate is hovering around 5 since the past five overs. (India:139/4)

Virat Kohli marches on after completing 12,000 runs in ODI cricket

100 up for India in the 20th over, with Virat Kohli playing at 36, assisted by Shreyas Iyer at the other end.  Given Australia's batting performance in the series, the run rate of just over 5 remains a worry of India at the moment. 

Kohli joins Gill after Abbott gets Dhawan for 16

Onus on Virat Kohli to hold the innings after the early dismissal of Shikhar Dhawan. Kohli is just 23 runs short of completing 12,000 runs in ODIs. 

Shubman Gill, Shikhar Dhawan begin India's innings 

Shubman Gill and Shikhar Dhawan have begun India's innings. Josh Hazlewood is with the new ball. 

Playing XI:

Australia: Aaron Finch, Marcus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Moises Henriques, Alex Carey, Cameron Grenn, Ashton Agar, Sean Abbott, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, T Natarajan

India opt to bat first; T Natarajan makes debut

India have won thr toss and opted to bat first. T Natarajan will make his debut in an international match today.

Toss at 7:40 pm (IST)

The toss will be held at 7:40 pm (IST)


India: Virat Kohli (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (vice-captain and wicket-keeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur and Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper)

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (wicket-keeper), Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wicket-keeper), David Warner and Adam Zampa

Posted By: Lakshay Raja