Mumbai | Jagran Sports Desk: The three-match ODI series between India and Australia will begin from Tuesday and the Men in Blue would look to seal another ODI series at home. While the fans are expecting an action-packed series, all eyes would be on Virat Kohli today when he takes guard against Australia in Mumbai.

The Indian skipper needs just one century to surpass former Australian skipper Ricky Ponting and to score the highest number of international tons across all formats as a captain.

Ponting held the record with 41 centuries and Virat Kohli drew level with him with his century at the Eden Gardens against Bangladesh in November 2019 and the Indian skipper on Tuesday will get a chance to grab the outright world record during India's three-match ODI series against Australia.

In ODIs, the Indian skipper has scored 21 centuries while in Tests, he has 20 tons. He went past the former Australian skipper in terms of Test centuries as captain with his 136 against Bangladesh and if he scores a hundred in the series against Australia, he will equal Ponting's record for most ODI tons as captain too.

The Indian skipper seems to love the burden of captaincy as his performance as a batsman significantly improved after he took the reins of captaincy from former skipper MS Dhoni.

In Tests, Kohli’s averages 63.80 as skipper while in ODIs he averages 77.60 as captain.  

The first ODI between India and Australia will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday while the second ODI will be played in Rajkot on January 17. The final match of the series will be played on January 19 in Bengaluru.


India: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, K L Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Shami.

Australia: Aaron Finch (Captain), Alex Carey (Wicket-keeper), Patrick Cummins, Ashton Agar, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschange, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, David Warner and Adam Zampa.    

Posted By: Aalok Sensharma